We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Colony Motel and Cottages

Crown Colony Motel and Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Colony Motel and Cottages
Save
You added Crown Colony Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
1381 Ocean Boulevard, Rye, NH 03870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rye
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This location is FABULOUS! Not alot of frills but it's a beach cottage not a house! The room was clean and had free WiFi. Our side didn't have a kitchenette, but they have some units with them. The beds were a bit squeaky, but comfortable. The view is GREAT-open the blinds and there is the ocean. We went Memorial Day weekend!!

Room Tip: There are several units that have a kitchenette that is great for extended stays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is not a ritzy place. However, it is clean, quiet, well managed, and the room we stayed in had a fantastic view of the ocean (it appears that most all of the cottages do as well). For the price it is far and away the best deal I have seen for lodging in a long time. We walked a short distance up the road to Petey's for a fantastic lobster dinner. These cottages are a true bargin.

Room Tip: Petey's for lobster can get busy so plan accordingly, especially if you have a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family absolutely loved staying at the Crown Colony Cottages. My husband is from Portsmouth, NH and we now live out of the area, and the clean, well situated group of cottages will absolutely be where we stay for future visits home. Waking up to the Atlantic Ocean directly in your view as soon as you open your eyes is the best way to experience the Seacoast. If you are deciding between one of the local chains or this set of cottages, definitely choose to support the locals! They will treat you right and make sure you are comfortable. The cottage was extremely clean and the maid service even went so far as to clean our baby daughters dirty bottles in the sink!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Make no mistake; this is not a property with flat screen tv's, air conditioning or a mint on your pillow. It's an older property set on a knoll directly across the road from the ocean. There's a range of cottage sizes; and they are older; but they are immaculate. The grounds are grassy and spotless; and ownership visibility is there every day.

The beach in front is rocky; but the views are just superb, there's a swimming beach within a quarter mile. Traffic noise is no bother because it is quite set back from the road; and there are no obstructions, it's very open property unlike much around it that has been developed.

There's a table, chairs and umbrella at every cottage; and some adirondack chairs around the property to sit and watch the ocean. This was our second year for a week's respite; and it was that. We'll be back for a third. Collective reviews really capture the look and feel of this property.

Room Tip: Cottage size determines some of your decision; but for the best views and most quiet look for the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I had the chance to get a way this weekend (without the kids) to celebrate our anniversary. We had no reservations or specific place in mind but we knew our destination was going to be the NH/ME seacoast region. So,like we did many years ago, we took off with no set plans.

This region is very crowded and expensive this time of the year. I would say 90% of the hotels are older, many run down, and many charge about $200+ per night. The other ten percent are high end hotels and will run you easily over $300 per night.

We did something out of the ordinary and drove up rt 1A to rye. It is between Hampton and the even more expensive ME region. I don't know why but the route is far less traveled but amazing route.

We found Crown Colony Cottages. This old time NE beach setting. The grounds where well kept, the area was clean and thought we would give it a try.Bill the owner was very accommodating. He personally took us down and showed us the.cabin.We found the cabin to be very clean, had a fridge,sitting area, stove, microwave,and overall cute. we had a deck outside our cottage that was Oceanside. it was perfect for what we where looking for. Better yet, the cost was only $100.00! we jumped at it.He later referred us to a good seafood restaurant about 600 feet from the cottage and made our trip very memorable.

please be aware, Crown Colony is not the Bellagio. There are not fancy tv's, expensive bedding, or any modern amenities.There probably hasn't been any major renovations in at least 20 years.But if you are looking for a clean, quiet get a way, at a fair price, with amazing views, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent Memorial Day weekend in one of the cottages. The views were beautiful and the cottage was very clean. It was our first time here. Bill, the owner, was very accomodating. We had a small kitchenette where we could make coffee and keep drinks cold. The only thing we would have liked was a grill or an area for outdoor cooking. Great place to stay if you want to be away from the crowds at Hampton Beach but still be close enough to visit there.

Room Tip: Cottages are private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent Memorial Day weekend 2012 at the Crown Colony. It was our first stay but hopefully not our last. Although not a modern place, the room was clean and neat. The owner(s) were very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms are right across the street from the ocean and as far as i could tell all the rooms and cottages face the water. We went for a long walk on the beach every day. A bonus is that you are within walking distance of Petey's Seafood. We did not have wi-fi or cell phone coverage while there so be prepared for a quiet relaxing stay!!

Room Tip: We got one of the last rooms which was a motel room. Although very nice it did not have a coffee po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Colony Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Colony Motel and Cottages

Address: 1381 Ocean Boulevard, Rye, NH 03870
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rye
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Crown Colony Motel And Cottages Hotel Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Colony Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.