We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England rocky beach get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pebble Cove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pebble Cove
Save
You added Pebble Cove to your Saves list
741 ocean blvd., Rye, NH   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rye
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New England rocky beach get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you're looking for a luxury resort this is not your place but if you're looking for beauty, relaxation, peace and tranquility... Then this is it~
From the moment we arrived at this cottage, until the moment we had to leave, we felt that we had found the perfect Rye beach getaway! The 2 bedroom hotel cottage is adorable, comfortable, clean, has everything you'll need, and quickly felt like a home away from home. Right across the street is a rocky beach (not for swimming) but the view is something embedded in my head and one I will conjure up throughout the year ahhh... the sunsets! A more suitable swimming beach is about a half a mile up the road you can't find a better seat for the best show around - a glass of wine, the waves lapping the rocky shore.The pool is huge and lined with gorgeous plants and immaculately maintained. Nice gas BBQ with picnic tables. The owners are on the premises but are non intrusive and so nice, when I called for the reservation we were told the last night was booked for the double room and that we would have to move to a single for one night. When we arrived the owner's husband said that there had been a cancellation and they we wouldn't have to move but that the rate would be as if we took the smaller room for that night! The location is smack dad in the middle of Hampton Beach and Port smith which have plenty of restaurants,shops and boat rides. I would highly recommend Ray's in Rye (A mile or so down the road) for the wonderful lobsta! This is the setting to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway. You won't find better!

Room Tip: Room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We would have gone again this year, but we were too late with our travel planning. The location is what draws us year almost annually. We are a family who hardly ever goes to the same place more than once.

Room Tip: I don't want to give away this secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent 3 days at Pebble Cove, smiling at the pink bathroom and aqua kitchenette, reminiscent of our 60's house before it was remodeled. Our room was clean, the location great, and the large fan helpful for circulating air and muffling noise, but the bed was hard and the fixtures in the bathroom rusted. There is also no maid service during your stay, at least not during the number of days that were were there. Nonetheless, it was a great price and value for its location during high season.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

A truly wonderful way to end our NH vacation (visited Lakes, White Mountains and Rye). Incredible luck, for some reason, we were upgraded to a double @ no additional charge, room #6, and would recommend spending the extra $ if staying more than a couple days, although all the rooms looked comfortable size. The double was like an apartment! Two bedrooms with doors for privacy. The main area included a comfy couch and reading chair in and great size, well equipped kitchen space. Both owners, Beth and Steve are incredibly nice and welcoming, setting the tone for the whole experience. The attention to detail here is amazing. Beth actually apologized that the kitchen tablecloth was slightly crooked. The rooms and grounds are immaculate. Beth has created beautiful landscaping, even blooming in late August, with unique plants and flowers. There are two picnic tables, spacious lawn, and gas BBQ. The guests we met were very nice and repeat customers. Everyone was happy!
Walk across the street and there are short boulders easy to climb and sit on to enjoy the ocean view, and we had the space all to ourselves. A public beach is very close by and clean.
Petey’s cold clam chowder is available at Petey’s Red Roof Market just down the street from Pebble Cove. We took it “home”, heated it, and it was fantastic. However, when we ordered take-out from Petey’s restaurant, couldn’t find any seafood in the “seafood stuffed” haddock (just breading). Lobster roll was on a Kaiser roll and bland. We were told our take-out dinner would be ready in 45 minutes but took over an hour as they were so slammed on a summer Sunday.
Stopped by Beach Plumb in Rye for ice cream (tasty) and their traditional lobster roll looked very good. Wish we’d tried there.
Market Basket supermarket on 1A in Rye had a great variety of New England cheeses we brought home as gifts for friends.
We could easily spend a week here and would love to return someday for a longer stay! Thanks Beth and Steve!!!

Room Tip: Suggest double room for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very nice and clean, beautiful loocation and very nice owners. always available to help when needed. We stayed in an efficiency and it was perfect for us, the kitchenette had everything we needed, microwave, coffee pot, etc. Very pleasant and bright, room for our daughter's portable crib.. Beautiful pool which we would have loved to use if the weather agreed. Walk across the road and see the beautiful rocky coast! Short drive from Portsmouth, and some yummy eateries and a nice bike path along the water in Rye.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Just spent a night here on an east coast roadtrip- wish we could have stayed longer! Older facility but well maintained with quality bedding and towels. Grounds are cute and location is good. Only thing missing was a hairdryer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I loved this place, it was clean, quaint, and a bit kitchy with a homey feel.
I prefer a pool to ocean swimming and PebbleCove has a lovely older style large aqua pool with comfy seating, available shade and flowers galore on the premises.
The motel keepers were available if needed but were not hovering around. I like being able to make my own pot of coffee in the morning and to have a glass of wine in the evening. Our room had all the necessary amenities not to mention nice quality sheets and spreads on the bed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pebble Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble Cove

Address: 741 ocean blvd., Rye, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rye
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pebble Cove Hotel Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pebble Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.