We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portable Pantry

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portable Pantry
61 Locust Street, McConnell Center, Lower Level, Rochester, NH 03867-2720
603-948-2035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth stopping in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a very good lunch here before seeing a play at the Opera House. Lunch combo of half sandwich and soup or salad was reasonably priced and very tasty. Good ingredients and decent sized portions. Not a lot of drinks to choose from, but the basics. Would absolutely return the next time we are in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Typically when I eat out price is ALWAYS a factor. We have only been to Rochester twice to visit Jetpack Comics that is right around the corner from this shop. We asked the store owners where a good place to eat was and they directed us to the Portable Pantry. What a find this place is! And even better - they Cater!
The dining area is small but just enough room for everyone. The staff was friendly and upbeat and they helped you the whole step of the way if you are new. They have lunch deals and homemade delicious soups and homemade yummy desserts!
I am a person who dislikes certain cooked vegetables because the texture after it has been cooked is mushy and gross. So I ordered the Chicken pot pie soup knowing I would normally have to pick around the peas and carrots...well I ate the whole thing! Peas, carrots, yummy roasted chicken and in a gravy like no other!
I also ordered the Grilled cheese with bacon and ham and they had no problem changing the blue cheese to cheddar or provolone for me. The bacon and ham were so good it took the sandwich to a whole new level for me! I had a soda pop and for dessert I had a scrumptious toll house cream cheese bar! WOW! Out of this world!
My husband had the Hungarian beef soup and the Turkey dinner sandwich and a lemon square! He said this soup was the best he has had in a long time! The sandwich was tender and the relish was outstanding!
Now here is the big deal for me - price....I compared our meals against any simple fast food restaurant and our entire meal was only $5.62 more than you would get at a fast food restaurant! Now that is the kind of deal I am looking for! I would rather spend a little more knowing I am getting 99% if not 100% homemade from a small business than spend a little less at some regular fast food place where all the food is over processed!
Thank you Portable Pantry!
We will be back the next time we are in town!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but good fresh deli food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

stopped here for a quick lunch. service was fast and friendly; menu mostly sandwiches and salads. Simple food, but fresh ingredients and well prepared.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacoast NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in Rochester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been going to this place at least once a week since they opened. They are the best place for a sandwich in Rochester, hands down. Different specials every day, and the chef really cares about food being delicious and creative. I even had them make a dish for me to take to Thanksgiving, and people raved about it. (They are already asking about it for this year.) Great place for an early lunch meeting with 2 or 3 people. Get on their email list and you get the specials to your inbox every day, which I look forward to reading even if I can't get away from my desk! (Also, for those who worry about cleanliness, these folks are very sanitary in their food prep.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ehhh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Have to say had an underwhelming experience for lunch, stale bread, good concepts but chef didn't execute...won't be back

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portable Pantry also viewed

 

Been to Portable Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portable Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.