We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very nice stay !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After reading others input I will say I was nervous!

When we arrived the hotel was clean . VERY NICE Staff and very helpful !! It not the Ritz but for the $ well worth it !!! close to down town (5 min drive) to old Portsmouth Easy to park (they gave us a map at the front desk and told us the cheep parking spots ) Great eats in old downtown !!
Go to ( Jumpin' Jay's ) voted Best Seafood Restaurant in New England Very Good !!!
Pool area was ok and the gym was nice , Overall I will stay here again close to Maine (15 min drive to Kittery) We travel a LOT !! and the other bad reviews I will say It not as bad as they make it out to be !!

Room Tip: We stayed on the (non highway side ) room had a little poach NICE !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortsmouthCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent on our property. Portsmouth is a great town, and we do have a wonderful location within 5 minutes of the downtown area. Jumpin' Jays is a favorite dining selection, and in addition Portsmouth offers over sixty additional restaurant options.

We hope to have to opportunity to serve you again during your next visit to the area.

Best Regards,

Tyler White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
31
41
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was disappointed with the Portsmouth Courtyard Hotel, it was not up to the usual consistency of the brand. Primary issue was the room, it was musty and felt as if it was in need of a make over. the bathroom was fine, but the main room was pealing paper, water stains and just felt in need of a total make over. On the positive side the bar/breakfast area was neat and clean and the staff friendly, I will note that I purchased 2 coffees and my co-worker did the same, never once did we pay the same price. the front test staff was energetic and helpful which helped. Location is good, just a short ride into town and close to the highway making it very good location for a business trip to the area. It will not be my first choice on my next trip to the area..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortsmouthCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent travels to the area. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve our operations. We have recently renovated the restaurant and lobby areas, and look to continually make improvements to the building. Our indoor pool surface was also recently renovated with a river rock plaster, which has improved both the look and feel of the area.

I apologize that there were some issues regarding the condition of the room, and assure you that our maintenance staff will address the concerns you have brought to our attention. I am glad that you enjoyed the service level of the staff, as we do strive to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

If you find yourself in the area, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I may assist with any reservation needs you may have.

Tyler White
General Manager
(603) 436-2121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's in an area away from everything, but there are always taxis at the hotel entrance to take you into town. The staff were all very pleasant. We stayed on the second floor (room 213) and when we got off the elevator it smelled like we were in a trash dumpster. I had to hold my breath every time I got on or off the elevator. The rooms need updating. The dark maroon and green colors make the rooms seem dingy. The carpets were worn. Bathroom and beds were clean. For the price we paid I thought it would have been nicer especially since it was a Courtyard. The hotel was not so much what I would have expected it to be especially for the price I paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

It's in a great location, beds are clean, bathroom is decent, it's actually quite comfortable for one night. The lobby looks nice and the TV provides many channels. It's in a secluded area from the highway, so it's nice and quiet. Safe and convenient area near the Strawbery Banke Museum and some shopping areas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at the Residence Inn in downtown Portsmouth, but ended up at the Courtyard Marriott as the Residence Inn didn't have rooms available. Our room was clean & plenty of space for the 3 of us. We enjoyed the pool & hot tub. We had two issues with our stay: the AC made loud noises throughout the night whenever it would turn on disrupting our sleep and towels had a musty odor. The Residence Inn is much nicer, better location and employees were much better with customer service & hospitality.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This Courtyard was clean and the staff was neither good or bad.
As a Marriott Gold was not impressed this hotel has the appearance of 1988 and could really use a modern update.
The staff was not bad but I did not have any interaction with them.
If you are just looking for a clean place to lay your head for a night this Courtyard will serve the need, just don't expect anything great!
The best thing about this hotel is that it only takes 5 minutes to get to downtown Portsmouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

....then stay here!

The hallways & room smelled like feet. There was a dark colored stain on the blanket also.

The location was good. The price was a little high for this hotel but it was the holiday weekend so that was to be expected.

On a better note, Portsmouth was a great place to visit. Lots to do & see!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth

Address: 1000 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Courtyard Portsmouth
Portsmouth Courtyard
Portsmouth Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.