We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy the smell of feet...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you enjoy the smell of feet...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

....then stay here!

The hallways & room smelled like feet. There was a dark colored stain on the blanket also.

The location was good. The price was a little high for this hotel but it was the holiday weekend so that was to be expected.

On a better note, Portsmouth was a great place to visit. Lots to do & see!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    38
    22
    8
See reviews for
33
44
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was very unhappy with the way I was treated they said they ran out of extra blankets and roll away beds. Someone from house keeping came in our room while we were out and ate some of our food and when we told the front desk they said that's weird then we overheard them saying that we were probably drunk and don't remember eating the food when the girl who's the food belonged to can not drink because of a medical condition so overall they where horrible

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Made a quick one-day stay here on a busy weekend with my choice based on being a Marriott member and the price. The hotel is located almost adjacent to I-95 but is surrounded by trees which does a pretty good job isolating you from the road noise. The entrance is west of the Interstate and may be a bit confusing as its also an entrance to a corporate park as well. If your destination is the old center of Portsmouth it is only a couple of mile drive down Market Street and there's a large multi-story parking garage on Hanover St with very decent rates.

Check-in was fast and friendly. We had a higher floor room that faced the interstate but didn't find the road noise too bad (didn't keep me up and road noise usually does). If that's a concern you could always request a room facing away from the highway. Room was spotless. And although this property looks like its been here for a few years the lobby looks like it has been recently done over (with the new Courtyard scheme) including a bistro. And there was an active pool area (which we didn't use). Our room had also been refreshed as well (see photos).

Room Tip: ask for room away from highway if you are concerned about road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Exactly what you expect from a Marriott. Slightly higher room fees than other similar hotels in the area. No view, little noisy as it is right off the highway. Free parking! Pool small, restroom in the pool area was less than clean. All other areas spotless, nice 24 hr gym. Something in the cupboard made an incessant ticking noise, couldn't locate the source, not the fridge, microwave, coffe pot. Very strange, but not too bothersome. Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat breakfast there, so much to see and do in Portsmouth. Beds were fine, no difficulty sleeping. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There was a bit of confusion when we booked as we wanted a king suite for 2 nights. We didn't get a king suite but did get a king room but we were charged for a king suite. Very friendly staff altered our booking without any fuss and credited my account.

Drinks the previous evening was also an unexpected surprise - there were no nibbles on the menu nor were any available - the bar attendant went out of his way to make us a little nibble - this was indeed very good service.

Although a bit out of town, we would recommend it and certainly stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: make sure you double check what room you have been allocated before you go past the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed here before and it is still a good choice for a moderate hotel . All of the expected Marriott amenities are here. There is a nice pool. The rooms have a refrigerator and coffee machine. flat screen TV and comfortable clean rooms. There is a nice bar and breakfast area on the main floor. A Starbucks is also next to the bar for coffee and. The rooms can be noisy since the hotel is next to the highway. Keep the slider closed and problem solved. The hotel staff is helpful and courteous. Free parking is a plus. A good bet in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am headed to this hotel for the 3rd year in a row this weekend. I stay there when I do an MS walk. It is a mile from beautiful downtown. Great highway access and the price is very reasonable. Rooms are average, but staff and bar area are great. This is not the place to stay if you desire a nice view from your window! Parking lot and highway are it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth

Address: 1000 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Courtyard Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott
Portsmouth Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.