We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a good option in Portsmouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Finally a good option in Portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We travel to Portsmouth at least twice a year for family things. It used to be a struggle to find a decent place to stay. Highly recommend trying the Residence Inn. We did have one issue, which was the location of our room being right next to the maids closet, so starting at 8am and continuing all day, all we heard was that door banging shut constantly. It did put a damper on relaxing or sleeping in. I would suggest you request a room away from the closet if possible. Other than that, no complaints. Well maybe the fire alarm going off at 7am one morning because someone burnt their toast. Should probably think about fixing the toaster as well, having everyone evacuate for something that could be fixed was quite annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
29
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I selected this property because I was using multiple bonus nights from Marriott and it filled the criteria of certificates. We weren't disappointed - location was convenient enough for our needs and accommodations were more than adequate. Staff was pleasant, rooms and common areas were clean. This is an older style Residence Inn that has had some updates but still could use more. The room facelifts didn’t include cabinetry which could use resurfacing.
One suggestion at check-in the staff should have mentioned that they place a $20 per day hold on your credit card for potential incidentals. Not a large amount but I believe every charge should be disclosed upfront. Breakfast buffet was the standard fare for Residence Inn. I would suggest breakfast sandwiches that guests could heat up or grab warm. The egg and meat in this to go option tends not to be dried out and tastier. I don’t have any complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in one of their suites which was two bedrooms and a living area with kitchen. It was great to be able to prepare food in the room but you wouldn't need to with the great snack they provide Monday to Thursday. This includes free beer and wine!
On our last day there was a power cut so no hot water in the morning but that really wasn't the end of the world. Great place, breakfast staff extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

When we checked in the power to the hotel was out. They couldn't make a key for us so we had to prop our room door open while we went to the car and then walk all the way around the building with our luggage to get in. It seems the staff could have held the back door open because we couldn't open it with out a key. The lights in the room were working but thats it, no heat, no hot water, no tv and they charged us full price. Also the blanket was quite thin and we couldn't find extra ones in the room. I am extremely disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great hotel with access to tons of stuff downtown. Excellent for kids. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. Room is clean and comfortable with fridge and plenty of space. Shout out to Sue at the bar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is located only a couple of miles out of downtown Portsmouth. The fireplace in the lobby was a very nice, cozy, warm welcome. Our room was quite large, clean and very comfortable. The Residence Inn provides a dinner on most nights andd breakfast every morning. Having a fitness room and a pool came in very handy. The staff was very nice, warm and friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel anytime I am in the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is very well located, an easy walk th the downtown Portsmouth attractions. The service was very pleasant and the rooms were well laid out, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good. Our only concern was that valet parking was required, there were no other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth

Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.