We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, musty odors, friendly front desk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outdated, musty odors, friendly front desk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Like other reviewers pointed out, there are some good things about this property and some not so good things, but I think there is an even bigger issue with Marriott when it comes to how they promote the properties they own in this area. There are actually TWO Residence Inns in Portsmouth: one on International Drive near the Pease Airforce Base and another on Deer Street in downtown Portsmouth.

We called the Marriott Rewards customer number to make our reservations 2 months prior to our trip and thought we were booking the Deer Street property. You can imagine how surprised we were when we showed up at that property at 10:30 at night after a 7 hour drive, only to be told that we didn't have a room there, that in fact, our room was at the other Residence Inn a couple of miles away . The front desk clerk said "oh, this happens all the time." Well, if that's the case, shouldn't Marriott do something about this to make it clear which property is which? We called Marriott and they promised to make this better, although we weren't sure how as it was late and we wanted to get to bed. So we drove over to the Residence Inn on International Drive.

The front desk was very friendly to us, as we had called them from the Deer Street location and they were aware of the issue. This property is very outdated and could really use some sprucing up. There is paint chipping everywhere and the pool is near the lobby so the smell of chlorine hangs heavy in the air. Our room was on the third floor and was a decent size, with a bedroom area and a sitting area, but it smelled awful....kind of like a chemical floral scent over a stale musty odor. There was also hair on the wall inside the shower. Breakfast was cereal, oatmeal, belgain waffles and a couple of hot choices, but they ran out of forks and sppons! I ate my yogurt with a plastic knife! After this debacle, the next day we called Marriott again to make arrangements to stay at the Deer Street property. They told us they had availability so we checked out of the International Drive property. Late in the afternoon, we went to check in at the Deer Street property (which is new and LEED certified) and the front desk told us that they didn't have a reservation for us. Turns out, Marriott Rewards customer service booked us for the wrong nights! So we had no place to stay! After an hour of working with the front desk clerk there, they were able to book us at the Fairfield Inn, yet another Marriott property in Portsmouth. All in all, it worked out, but Marriott owes us big time and needs to make this right for 1) Not being clear and making the distinction between the two VERY different properties in Portsmouth to prevent future mix-ups 2) When attempting to fix the mix-up, they booked us for the wrong nights at the Deer Street property leaving us with no stay 3) It took us over 2 hours to find another place for us to stay, plus check-in and unloading our stuff, etc. We would not stay at this property again, and would be hesitant to stay at another Marriott property when other brands such as Starwood have better customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
48
36
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a great hotel located next to the Portsmouth-Pease Airport and close to the downtown area of Portsmouth. It is a very clean and quiet property, and the staff was more than accommodating when it came to restaurant directions, business center activities, etc. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Top floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I really loved this place. Our stay was just overnight and we rolled in at 1:30 am. We were road weary and desperate for a shower and a comfortable bed. We walked in and were greeted by Linda (I think that was her name) she was very friendly and welcoming. She checked us in quickly, advised us of the salt-water pool and sent us up to our room. We were really disappointed we didn't have our swimsuits with us, the salt water pool sounded awesome! The room was well appointed and modern, even the room art was cool. The bathroom counter had lights softly glowing underneath to give it a floating effect, also eliminating the need to turn on the harsh overhead lights while making late night trips to the bathroom. Everything was just so thoughtfully done. Oh! and breakfast was complimentary. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Boston from Maine hoping to have a look around Portsmouth as we had heard it was a nice town. The hotel is well kept with a nice pool and the rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was above expectations and the staff were friendly. When we arrived to our room there was a man right outside the window on a machine hammering cladding onto the wall. We thought this a little odd and were happy that we were only staying the one night, the oddest part was that the staff didnt make any mention of him at all. Later that night I noticed that there were a lot of crumbs on the floor of the kitchen area and a bowl on the counter that was to be used for popcorn was very sticky. The rest of the suite seemed clean enough. There was ample parking. The hotel is located a good distance from the town and is really located beside the airport in an area called Pease. Ideally next time we would stay at the Residence Inn in central Portsmouth. It was also very expensive for the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I really enjoyed our third floor suite room. The 2 bedrooms are divided by the living room/kitchen and each bedroom has a private bath. There are three LCD HDTV's - one in each bedroom and another in the living room. The king beds were very comfortable and the room clean. Many extra pillows and bedding was available in this room. The lodging rooms are connected by a walkway to the lobby and gathering area, so this eliminates any noise transfer from this area. Our room was very quiet, thus providing a restfull sleep. The included breakfast buffet on Sunday morning had enough selections to satisfy adults and kids.

This was a one night stay for a family event in nearby York Harbor Maine. This New Hampshire location is near the Pease airport and a little ways off I-95. On the east side of the hotel is a brewery and the west side is Paddy's bar/restaurant. Time didn't allow a visit to either location. No restaurant on site, but many choices within a couple of miles. There is a small market in the lobby area to buy snacks, cold & frozen foods and soft drinks.

We will certainly stay here again when returning to the NH or ME area.

Room Tip: Get the 2 bedroom suite if you have more than two people. You'll be happy with this decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Friendly staff overall nice hotel. Hotel had a nice dining area. They had pretty nice rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a two bedroom suit, very large rooms, spacious kitchen and nice seating area. Large bathrooms with outside sink area. Comfortable beds. Only problem was with upkeep, toilet ran all the time and cleaning crew didn't call repair person, kitchen cabinets need to be replaced, worn wood. Breakfast wonderful with lots of selections.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth

Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.