We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brazo

Brazo
75 Pleasant St, Portsmouth, NH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brazo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 183 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Street
Description: What if Portsmouth had a fling with a Latin lover? What if mojo filled the streets, steaming with the heat of Cuban, Spanish and, Latin music. What if you could drink a caipirinha on a Tuesday night? Or salsa with someone you'd never met? Welcome to Brazo where the flavors of Latin and South America are completely at home in northern reaches. Its everything an exotic journey should be right in downtown Portsmouth. Viva Brazo!
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've lived on the seacoast for four years and have never been to Brazo, despite hearing how great it was. Service staff were friendly, attentive and had great recommendations. I had the duck, my date had the paella. We split a mushroom salad for an app. Everything was delicious, portions were perfect (not like ome more "gourmet" restaurants where they give you a small amount of food). I cleaned my plate! It was definitely one of the best meals I've had in a long time. I can't wait to go back with my friends and family!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    36
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Portsmouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Brazo is a wonderful restaurant with an eclectic, delicious menu. Not for fans of the bland and boring! A few of our favorite things:

The space is nice without being flashy. Beautiful decor & great atmosphere. It's a place I've gone wearing a dress and also jeans and a sweater - on the upscale side of things but not stuffy.

The staff are WONDERFUL. We love going in and seeing familiar, smiling faces!

The menu is DELICIOUS. South-American done really well, and the drinks are fantastic.

This is my husband's and my favorite restaurant in Portsmouth. Make a reservation just in case (especially on a weekend evening) - and if you're in town for Restaurant Week, their price fixe menus are always impressive.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Enjoyed the cocktails, food and the atmosphere. It's a small place in the heart of Portsmouth NH, which is a great town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poutine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Try the poutine. You will not regret it. The drinks (habanero margarita and ginger mojito) were also delicious and a healthy portion. Ended up going with the pork shank for dinner and it was very good, but could have used a little more sauce. But try the poutine, seriously.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Brazo! So wonderful, that we came back two more nights during the week for either dessert or a nightcap with a snack. On our first visit, we split the fish tacos, the tapas platter, and the charred romaine salad. All were great! We came back later in the week for more fantastic tres leches cake and olive tapanede. We received excellent service from our wait person Luna and all of the staff on each visit. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazo also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Brazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.