We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brazo

Brazo
75 Pleasant St, Portsmouth, NH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brazo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 187 restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Street
Description: What if Portsmouth had a fling with a Latin lover? What if mojo filled the streets, steaming with the heat of Cuban, Spanish and, Latin music. What if you could drink a caipirinha on a Tuesday night? Or salsa with someone you'd never met? Welcome to Brazo where the flavors of Latin and South America are completely at home in northern reaches. Its everything an exotic journey should be right in downtown Portsmouth. Viva Brazo!
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location and attentive service.

Having read previous TA reviews we shared the arepas starters which were excellent, and both the pork and beef tenderloin mains were stunning. Beers and cocktails were well recommended by staff and all were reasonably priced.

One of the highlights of our trip,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    97
    30
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philly
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Appys and Mojitos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the opportunity to dine at Brazo's in July as we were in town for a family wedding. By the time we got into Portsmouth it was rather late and based on reviews I had read, we decided to sample the appetizer menu. We started with the fish taco and beef empanadas and followed that with pistachio crusted tuna and the poblano pepper and corn mussels. Everything was so light and flavorful. We could not choose a favorite; every dish had wonderful seasonings and was cooked to perfection! The strawberry basil mojito was so yummy, I just had to have a second!
Service was very friendly and helpful. Our only regret is that we don't live close enough to become regulars

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped at Brazo for dinner when we visited Portsmouth on our way up to Maine. The food drinks and service were outstanding. We enjoyed it so much that made a special stop in Portsmouth on our way home just to dine again at Brazo. Just wish I lived closer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best (no longer) kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have hesitated to review Brazo because I don't really want to have any more competition for the bar seats than there already is during the 5-7 pm happy hour. Having said that I have to admit my experience at Brazo is colored by the excellent service I have always received from Emile at the bar. He is really friendly, professional and incredibly efficient, even when both bar tending and serving a full bar drinks and food.
I have always ordered from the appetizer menu, both because I am not a fan of eating an entire entree, and because the happy hour includes half price appetizers. The Yucatan Style Fish Tacos with "crisp fried native cod, in a marinade of citrus, cilantro, and cayenne in a corn tortilla shell with salsa fresca and garlic crema" are really, really good. The Charred Romaine Salad with house-made ranchero dressing, blue cheese, roasted corn, black beans and salsa fresco is different and the flavors work together really well. The other dish I often order is the Pistachio Crusted Ahi Tuna over golden tostones with cilantro aioli, mango salsa and aged sherry reduction. The tuna is really fresh as is the mango salsa and the combination of ingredients really works. This is one of my favorite quick bites in Portsmouth and a nice treat after a work day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service - average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our first time visiting Brazo - location easy and parking a breeze. The restaurant is very noisy so if you want to visit, it isn't the best place to choose. The wait staff were very good although the service was quite slow (it was a Tuesday night). The guacamole and pork barbecue were very good, paella was not a good choice. Salmon was good but not exceptional. We are unlikely to return with so many other choices available!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazo also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Brazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.