We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snazzy but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brazo

Brazo
75 Pleasant St, Portsmouth, NH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brazo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Street
Description: What if Portsmouth had a fling with a Latin lover? What if mojo filled the streets, steaming with the heat of Cuban, Spanish and, Latin music. What if you could drink a caipirinha on a Tuesday night? Or salsa with someone you'd never met? Welcome to Brazo where the flavors of Latin and South America are completely at home in northern reaches. Its everything an exotic journey should be right in downtown Portsmouth. Viva Brazo!
NH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Snazzy but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Brazo is a nice choice when you want something a bit different from what the rest of Portsmouth has to offer. The food is good, but expensive. Limited menu so not the best for picky eaters.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Deserving of all the praise it is getting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week three course meal for $30. What a great deal. The food in general had a lot of flavour complexity. The drink special, a mojito ingles, was well thought out and not overly sweetened. The steak was cooked perfectly and the sides were all delicious. Manchego mashed potato, bacon sauteed green beans, and horseradish-garlic crema. My wife had the crispy skinned chicken which was equally as good. Had a charred tomato bisque with crab fritter as an appetizer and was very happy with it, though it sounds like I should have gotten the tuna taco from all the praise its getting. Tres Leches for desert made for a perfect finish. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Walk-in Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

During our one night-stay in Portsmouth, NH, we were recommended a few fish restaurants but we wanted to venture instead. During a stroll on the restaurant area we came accross Brazo which seemed inviting from outside, and boy were we in for a culinary surprise. For the dinner specials we paid $25 for a thre course-meal and the appetizers and entrees were out-of-this world. The Tuna Taco is possibly one of thebest appetizers I have ever eaten anywhere in the world, and the steak was really rare even with American standards. The sauces, the desserts, the service, the ambience... overall a great experience: do go there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just not that good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this restaurant because it had been ranked #1 a few months back. Tapas were just not that good (although the fish tacos were good). The mojito and coffee drink I had were not very good either. It wasn't terrible, just not didn't have the "wow factor" I expected the best restaurant in Portsmouth to have.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnitedStates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dinner but not wowed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading great reviews, my husband and I decided to dine at Brazo during our visit to Portsmouth. I expected something better but the food turned out to be just fine. While I have no complaints, I was not wowed by it. I won't be in a rush to come back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazo also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Brazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.