We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used the Holiday Inn Portsmouth as home base for a trip to the southern Maine beaches. The hotel was easy to get to from the highway and we were able to drive to downtown Portsmouth easily. We found the room clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but we were not spending a huge amount of time at the hotel. Parking was convenient and we did not notice any noise from the highway. There is a diner right next door and we had a good breakfast there. i recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    81
    67
    21
    25
See reviews for
64
81
22
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff went out of their way to answer all of our questions and to offer sightseeing recommendations. The room was comfortable but a bit dark. The bed was fine even though I found the pillows to be very small. The location was very good even though it was not right in the middle of Portsmouth. A short five minute ride took us to all of the attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth 2 nights. Room was clean and properly stocked. Plenty of parking. Friendly staff. The free coffee in the lobby is made fresh each morning...but thats it. They left it out all day. I poured myself a cup at 6pm thinking it was fresh...They should remove it if its not fresh. They have one washer and dryer for the whole hotel. Bring your quarters. The restaurant serves a pretty decent breakfast at a fair price. Don't forget, kids (12 & under) eat free at all Holiday Inn hotels. The pool looked clean, but we didn't use it. The hotel is located right next to the highway, making it easy to travel to all Maine attractions. The room has been going for between $139 - $179 per night. We booked it for a lot less through Priceline.com (I'm not say how much....lol). If you decide to stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth....ENJOY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. i appreciate the kind words and will be sure to pass them along to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here just one night as a stop-over between Boston and my real destination of North Conway. It was convenient enough right off the highway, but other than that not a great hotel by my standards. Decent, sure, but not as clean and comfortable as I’d like and not really what I’d consider to be a 3 star as most sites list it, more like 2.5. All the people I interacted with on-site were very nice I will say.

Check-in was easy enough and they had a bar/restaurant on-site, though I didn’t go there. There was also a little pool area but I did not have time to use it. The rooms were not that great in my opinion, rather cheap furnishings, not as clean as I’d like, and a bit run down. I took a cab in to town for a drink and it was very quick, 5 minutes or less, but I don’t think it would be an easy walk, but close enough for a bike ride.

Overall, I’d try and stay somewhere else next time but for one night it did the trick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear KevDough,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Friendly check in staff, average room. Only one elevator which made for many looong waits. The room was not as clean as I would like (greasy smears on the nightstand, dusty bed rail) but overall it was ok. The bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom I've seem - some airplane bathrooms have more room. Our room faced the parking lot and unfortunately also the smoking area so we had to keep the windows closed. The beds were firm and comfortable, and each bed had 4 nice fluffy pillows, so everyone slept pretty well. The pool looked a bit murky so we didn't venture in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear TSAWorld,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is nice to know that the staff that checked you inn was friendly. most importantly, I am very happy that you all slept well in the beds and pillows. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you have had with the long wait on the elevator and with the unsatisfactory cleanliness of the room. Kindly be assured that these concerns will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If the room had been as nice as the lobby this would have been a good experience.
Friendly staff greeted us upon arrival and then it was downhill. Our third floor king room was beyond needing refurbishing. Shabby furnishings, wall paper and bed linen (yes piling sheets) and a poorly draining bathtub.
The positives were that the hotel was an easy drive to the historic downtown area and an $8.00 taxi, easy access to the highway, close to the state liquor store.
Poor value for $200.00 a night and no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MegCanada,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on our friendly hotel staff. However, we do apologize the experience you had with the condition of the room which was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped in here for 2 nights. It is convenient right off I-95. The price was good for the area in the middle of the summer. Coffee and tea were available in the lobby 24 hours. The desk employees were friendly. We received 4 free drink (at the bar) vouchers for being a Priority Club member. I used the washer and dryer in the basement level. I ran out of coins and was given change by the desk clerk very early one morning. Our king room was large and clean (except for finding an empty water bottle behind one of the night tables when we were looking for an electrical outlet). We had a desk area that gave us enough space to spread out while using our laptop for business. Our room overlooked the highway at the front of the building but the noise was not a problem and we slept well as the bed was very comfortable. The city of Portsmouth was close to drive to. There was only one elevator but it was only a problem the morning of checkout. We had stayed until around 11am and had to walk down from the 4th floor as the elevator was crammed full of people at that time. Overall, the Holiday Inn is a good choice when in the Portsmouth area. We felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.