We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Rome, NY, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel is acceptable … nothing spectacular, but certainly acceptable. Restaurant isn’t much, but there are plenty of good places nearby to eat. If you are looking for seafood Warren’s is the place. Lounge is large and probably the best feature the hotel has. Do not …. Let me repeat that … DO NOT take a room on the 6th floor. The elevator only goes to the 5th floor! I know it sounds odd (and it is odd … very odd) but it’s true.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Robert A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you liked our lounge.

However, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience our elevator has caused you. Nevertheless, I am pleased that you had a satisfying stay with us and our service and amenities somewhat met your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    72
    62
    20
    17
See reviews for
59
71
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here Friday and Sat night. It was a special occasion and I had flowers sent to my room prior to my arrival. They were placed beautifully in my room and another package was held for me at the desk. Everything went smooth. I recieved nice help getting a taxi to go to Dinner Saturday night.. Entire stay was great. I ate Dinner in the Lounce area on Friday. They re started the fire place for us. Food was good and reasonably priced. I suggest the Peanut butter pie for dessert.

We had a nice king bed room. Plenty of space. Internet worked fine. Chair was comforatable.

The pool was not what I expected, but everything else was outsanding. It starts with the staff and it shows they care.

The hotel is close enough to walk to downtown and we did so, and saw some of Market Square day.

Very good experieince.

Bob

Room Tip: 3rd and 5th floors have ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haverhill, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here at a great price for $40 less than normal rates overnight this past week. The location was convenient to most everything. The desk staff was very helpful and courteous and had the room available before noon for check-in. Although it seems I got the cut rate room due to location next to the stairwell, it was very quiet and comfortable. The rooms had been refurbished it seems with flat screen tv, plush bedding, new carpeting and upgraded bathrooms to a point. Nice pool although I didn't use it or the restaurant since choices in the area were a plenty. Would recommend it at the price I paid. Yes, they have free wifi too.

Room Tip: Even number rooms are on back side of hotel and quieter. Ask if the room is near an elevator or sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Big kudos for Holiday Inn in Portsmouth, NH. Made me right at home the first night of my stay and with very friendly front desk. Shannon and Cash always had to chat to make small talk and give pointers where you could get dinner always from the hotel, but you can a great meal in the in house restaurant. I recommend the fish and chips, which served hot and almost more then I could eat, but I finish all it, which I had it served in the bar where I could watch the games. I had a King Room which was very clean and comfortable. I had only few nights stay, but I will stay there again on my way home after I finish my assignment.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking, if you are a smoker, just ask to be next to elevator it makes easy to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We happened to book the Holiday Inn when we went onto a site that boasts,"Get a 3 star hotel for a 2 star price". The lobby is new and attractive and the entire hotel seemed to be clean and updated. We were quite happy when we arrived at our room on the quiet even numbered side of the building. It was clean but the sheer curtain on the large window was torn. We unpacked and decided to go to the pool which is reached by going through the lowest level of the building. The pool water was cloudy -and very uninviting,so we decided we would just sit a while. Was the filter working? The furniture in this area was okay-not perfect-but okay. The floor around the pool was dirty,with what appeared to be dead brown bugs(or somekind of leaves?) here and there. We expected a good pool at a Holiday Inn and were very unhappy and told the desk clerk the next day when we checked out. She promised to get housekeeping to attend to the ripped curtain but made no mention of cleaning the pool area. The staff that we encountered ,in the lounge and around the hotel in general were all cordial, gracious and knowledgeable.. Lots of care has been put into maintaining the main hotel with an attractive lounge and restaurant area ,as well the guest rooms and corridors. The cheap ,dirty and unattractive pool area looked like it was totally out of place at this hotel and was a big disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Hicocamp,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on our clean hotels. However, we do apologize the experience you had with the cleanliness of the pool was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and you get 2 free drink coupons when you check in, to use at the bar! It's a bit of a hike to downtown, but a cheap cab ride. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to the holiday inn for a 2 night stay with 2 other couples. All of us had nice rooms and comfy beds. The rates of this hotel were so reasonable and our rooms were very clean. No sign of bed bugs as mentioned in another review from around the same time as we stayed. Staff was also very nice and helpful, and because we have stayed there before and have a rewards card we received 4 free drink cards to use in the lounge. Lounge was nice although the bartender was not as friendly as I would of liked. Only thing that was kind of a bummer was that both of the couples we traveled with had a microwave and fridge in their rooms and we did not. So if that's important to you, ask when checking in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.