We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had to make last minute plans to Portsmouth, NH., My Husband, daughter and I have stayed at $300.00/per nite hotels in the past and for that price were not that happy with them. When we made the reservation on line, I couldn't help to think in my mind, OMG, I can only imagine what this room/hotel will look like. Well, when my sister and I walked to the lobby I was very surprised! When we went to our room, even more suprised, very clean, neat and updated! The room was just as nice if not better than hotel we like to stay in when we travel. Will stay at the Holiday Inn again! with more money in our pockets to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    85
    73
    27
    26
See reviews for
69
90
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lebanon, nh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here with our 5 children over April vacation and really enjoyed it! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great for us with not more than a 10 minute drive to lots of outlet shopping, the mall, restaurants and Chuck E Cheese. We ate breakfast at the hotel and the service and food were outstanding plus they give you coupons to use in the restaurant which is helpful to save a little money. The lounge with complimentary cocktails was wonderful, the kids loved the pool (although we did wish it had a hot tub) and complimentary cookies in the evening were a big hit too. We had 2 rooms and while we did wish they could have been adjoining (we were told there were none available) it still worked out fine, they were clean and comfy enough. The diner next store has wonderful food as well-we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were greeted by a very Friendly receptionist who showed me where everything I wanted to go to was on a map and had no problem showing me something’s twice. The room was comfortable and clean. The next day the receptionist was just as friendly. Keep up the good work. It is a little out of the town but it doesn't claim to be in the town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Clean rooms & great staff. We will be back! Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We had a very nice stay. The staff was friendly and efficient. The Hotel was clean and well kept, as was our room. We had dinner and breakfast at their restaurant and both were excellent. My wife and I are already planning another week-end there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I got a great price on this room! GREAT. I thought it was a little bit far from the downtown area, $11 by cab each way which isn't much but still a pain in the tush. I did not think the cleaning ladies really cleaned the room but the most important part is the sheets and towels which were done.
They gave me a certificate for a breakfast and I couldnt find it after unpacking,they wouldnt replace it. I wasn't sure the cleaning staff did full cleaning but I was mostly interested in sheets anyway. the food was super expensive but the two drink vouchers were a very very nice treat and the bartender was very sweet and the waiter although oatmeal and eggs for $30 is not cool, esp when I had been given a certificate. Even after I toldthem it was lost with all my paperwork i had traveled with they still refused to honor it which is annoying they would not honor it.
The pool was heaven and and the warm cookies were a delight. Not sure about a return since I do not like when staff do not honor things or give the patron the benefit of the doubt. She told me that I never even have received the certificate. Which, how would I know it existed??
Also the room service never picked up the dirty plates in the hall, so there were many.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We were here during the Christmas 2010 blizzard. The beds were very comfortable, the bedding immaculate. The staff was friendly and responsive. Our request for a fridge was quickly granted (at no charge). The best thing, though, was the pool. The water was blissfully warm. What fun to swim in tropical water while watching the storm rage through the big windows. Not a scenic spot (our view was a traffic circle), but convenient for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.