We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge by the outside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1190 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Connemara, Co. Galway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't judge by the outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We took Rte 1 all the way from Boston to Portsmouth and casually passed by the hotel not realizing that it was the one we were booked into! The car park was very large and weedy and two big rigs were pulling in at the time which seemed strange. After walking around the beautiful town we dug out the GPS and when we arrived at the afore seen hotel I got a bad feeling. Well, it was fine! The hotel was clean and bright, the staff were friendly, the room was big and the a/c nice and quiet. But.... The bed was way too soft and we were sore and stiff after the night. Plenty of towels which is unusual and very welcome. We didn't eat or swim but I have to think both were fine. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the town centre and very handy to go in any othera direction as well. We'd stay again as the price was good but the beds should be looked at.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
40
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was well maintained, the room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and our reservation was accurate. It was a short 5 minute drive to the town center, though not walkable. The breakfast was decent, and typical for a free hotel breakfast. Everything is as advertised on the website, and we got what we expected. We were pleased with our experience.

Room Tip: The elevator was slow, so if you can request a room on a lower floor you might save yourself some wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Were greeted by the usual but always welcoming staff (we see more and more of this every year). Earlier I had to call to check on one thing and was treated on the phone as if I was standing at reception. When leaving the staff person to whom I had spoken remembered me by name - 4 days later.

Hotel is located on busy US1. It is located in the middle of what can only be called a vacant lot. Strange. The hotel looks new from the outside.

The room was just fine. Plenty of space and all was clean and fresh. The A/C was very quiet in comparison to most.

Our only raised eyebrow was the bed. It was the softest bed I have ever encountered and my back was not impressed.

Indoor pool (we didn't use) and a big fresh breakfast (again, we didn't use) finished off a really nice hotel.

Before staying again though I'd ask about the bed.

Room Tip: We were located directly above the car port on the 2nd floor. Not a sound. No worries on noise for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having stayed at Comfort Inns in the past, we knew pretty much what to expect. The hotel is just a ten minute drive to historic downtown Portsmouth and the rates are better that the hotels downtown. The hotel's landscaping could use some work. There is a large vacant lot next to the hotel that had overgrown weeds. There are also weeds growing in back of and on the sides of the hotel. I appears they allow big rigs to park overnight in the large parking lot. Checking in was easy. Staff was friendly and helpful. We could not our TV to turn on and they had somebody come up right away. Seems the TV's sometimes need to be unplugged and "rebooted."
The beds were a disappointment. We had two queens and they were way to soft for us. We both woke up a little stiff and sore. I noticed they advertise all beds are "pillow toppers." The free breakfast if good. The breads, pastries, juices were good. The make your own waffles are a nice touch. They seem to alternate between sausage and bacon. The eggs are the preformed patty type.
The pool and hot tub were very nice. It seemed we had both pretty much to ourselves most of the time. All in all, a good value. We plan on visiting the area again and if we do stay someplace other than the comfort Inn, it will be because if the beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Passing through Portsmouth on a road trip and found this little gem. To be fair it was only the 3rd hotel we had tried and it seemed to be the most reasonably priced place. The counter staff were very friendly even though it was late in the evening.

Our room was very smart and well appointed. Linen very fresh and no rank smells like some other Comfort Inn's I've tried.

That evening we went straight to sleep After driving for hours from Scranton, PA and found the room very quiet.

In the morning after packing away our typical road trip mess we had the breakfast. Nothing special but a nice outlay and a pancake maker which sold it for me. I had 3!!!

Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Try the 'make your own pancakes'. Being a Brit, we don't have such things and it was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July, 12. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is older but our room was clean & comfortable. I liked that it was very convenient to the NH beaches and to southern Maine if you want to go up there for the day. There are good restaurants nearby as it is right in the middle of Route 1. The pool is big and they have a nice hottub too. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for just one night and had a wonderful experience. The place looked nice and was very clean. We didn't use any of the amenities such as the pool or gym, but they have them.

It was much cheaper than any of the hotels directly downtown and is only a 45 minute walk away. There are also cabs in the are that can take you back and forth.

Only con was that the bed was too soft, but I prefer a harder mattress.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1190 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.