We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Inns & Suites

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Inns & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
keene
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were in the Portsmouth area and going to Ogunquit beach and this place was on the way. Great location off the highway.

Helpful and friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Would deffinitely stay here again.

this is a great little place! We loved the convienience of where the area was. I only gave 3 stars on restaurant because there wasn't anything "on-site" but there are places within reasonable driving distance. The hot tub was really nice with a waterfall. The pool needs a little maintenance, but for the price we payed we deffinitely enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: I don't think I'd really want to stay on the "ground floor" or basement level, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    77
    29
    21
    19
See reviews for
57
97
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a long day on the road, we pulled in here for some rest. The walls are paper thin, the couple beside us were up most of the night, the walls were thumping and you could hear their "sounds" through the walls. Breakfast contained no protein but very unhealthy choices high is sugar. Front desk staff were not concerned at all with our complaints and did nothing to try to make us satisfied. We paid $140 and left there feeling very unsatisfied and would not even think of staying here again. We would have been better sleeping in our car. If you stay here, bring ear plugs and your own breakfast alternative!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were here on a vacation to the area. We drove from our hotel to Boston to do some sight seeing. This was easier and cheaper than staying in Boston. We were here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the pool and hot tub in the evenings The breakfast was good and adequate. The desk clerk was very nice and we would stay there again if we had the opportunity

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here mostly because it was so reasonable and the hotels right in Portsmouth are so expensive! The location is good, and if you feel like walking into town, not too far. The front desk people were very welcoming and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. Our only complaint would be with the air conditioning. It was noisy and came on and off all night. Eventually we put the setting on "fan" and it solved the problem. Other than that, no complaints and we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were so delighted to find this gem! There was an elevator & cart available to get bags to the 2nd floor. Clean room, smelled great, updated bathroom. Wish I’d brought my swim suit as the pool looked very inviting. Delicious hot and cold breakfast options. Felt safe & secure. Have paid more for less. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south hadley, ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The front desk crew has been welcoming, kind, and helpful as I stay at the Anchorage frequently. Rooms are clean and there is plenty of parking. Breakfast is decent and pool area is clean. It's also easy to access from the traffic circle and a five minute drive to down town.

Room Tip: Ask about dog friendly rooms but please keep them allowing pets by picking up after yours and not le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My children really enjoyed the atmosphere of the pool area. The water fall in the hot tub gives it a touch of being at an exotic resort. I absoltely love the ceiling tiles above the pool of the sky. It's a very beautiful hotel and extremely clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Address: 417 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Inns & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.