We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Trumpet Bistro

Black Trumpet Bistro
29 Ceres St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3727
603-431-0887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent first experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Three of us ate at Black Trumpet this evening for my wife's birthday, and we can see why Evan Mallett has such a strong reputation. All of the food was excellent: for appetizers, we tried the meze plate and the fried oysters; for main courses, we tried the chicken, the steak, and the lamb shortrib; and for dessert we tried a new item which sounded unusual (something like red quinoa coconut milk pudding) but turned out to be delicious. We also found the ambience quite appealing - it's a very nice room, and although the restaurant was pretty full, we had no trouble hearing each other and didn't have to raise our voices. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but it's better and nicer than many other places with similar prices, so I consider it a good value. We expect to eat there again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    37
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“totally overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Burger served RAW. Bland food at ridiculous prices. Based on previous reviews something has gone terribly wrong here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All the Flair with None if the Flavor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Black Trumpet anticipating an 'award winning" meal. We entered and found the atmosphere was warm and cozy with an elegant ambiance. Unfortunately, we were all disappointed with the food. Three of the group got Paella and all found it surprisingly bland. The Pollack was fresh, and the cream sauce was fine, but nothing very special and was again, lacking in flavor. The lamb burger was "standard", and the bun was the best part. All of the food was executed with masterful precision. Technical skill was certainly not an issue. Which made the complete lack of flavor,across the board, such an astounding conundrum. Black trumpet does everything but the simplest and most important things quite well. We expected better, and they should expect better of themselves as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We especially liked the paella and fried oyster salad. The service was excellent. The place was busy on a Sunday night, early, so get a reservation!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, N.H.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Black Trumpet is an Exceptional Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been enjoying Black Trumpet for years, and the food and service never lets us down. Chef/Owner Evan frequently changes his menu to incorporate the freshest locally sourced products available. The menu and food is always excellent. The staff is equally as impressive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Trumpet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.