We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Trumpet is an Exceptional Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Trumpet Bistro

Black Trumpet Bistro
29 Ceres St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3727
603-431-0887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Portsmouth, N.H.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Black Trumpet is an Exceptional Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been enjoying Black Trumpet for years, and the food and service never lets us down. Chef/Owner Evan frequently changes his menu to incorporate the freshest locally sourced products available. The menu and food is always excellent. The staff is equally as impressive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    37
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kittery, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Restaurant week, first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My friend and I were very happy with our meal overall. The waitress was very helpful in explaining the dishes that we needed help understanding, service was great. It is in an old building in Portsmouth with brick walls, and can get noisy.
The food pairings were very interesting and fun to try. The big hit was the bean gratin that came out of the oven in a small frying pan.
If you like unusual pairings this is the place to try

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to Trumpet about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

With black trumpet mushrooms (a native to NH that I harvest from my back woods) being my very favorite mushroom and chef Evan Mallet being a James Beard best chef nominee, I was greatly looking forward to dining at the Black Trumpet. It did not disappoint. The dining room is charming historic Portsmouth NH with a very old brick interior, small but warm and cozy, located on Ceres St. across from the signature Portsmouth Tugboats at dock. Another reviewer here described the menu as "complicated" but then went on to say everything worked together very well Nicely said. My charming companion had the Archer Angus Hanger Steak with frites, claytonia, radishes and malt aioli. Not being a foodie at all, she ordered it well done. Admirably. the server offered that it might be a bit tough that way and with a little cajoling we got sweet Kimberly to bravely accept pink in the middle. She loved it!! I ordered the Braised and Glazed North Star Lamb Shortrib with parsnip gnocchi, favas and radicchio gremolata. Totally delightful! For dessert we shared (ok, Kimberly, being disciplined and very good, only had one bite) the Chocolate Cherry Bombe with meringue and chocolate ganache. Again..delectable. Was the menu complicated? Well, I've never heard of claytonia before. And the dishes are imaginative pairings. Yes they do stretch their presentations a bit beyond the ordinary. But when you taste, it just is not complicated, it's wonderful and I suspect you can order whatever strikes your fancy and it will simply be delicious. We live in the area and will absolutely return again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So so so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great atmosphere, amazing food, delicious wine--- a gem by the waterfront in Portsmouth! I'm speechless at how good the food is!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover, nh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over the top.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

An excellent, delicious, inventive menu.....the crepes with lamb and fruit were amazing! The kale ceasar salad with squash croutons, was a melt in your mouth creation. Delectable fried oysters with chick peas and chicory......A beautiful experience. The menu seems complicated, but the food is fantastic!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Trumpet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.