We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Trumpet Bistro

Black Trumpet Bistro
29 Ceres St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3727
603-431-0887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 160 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not worth the $$$...food lukewarm and just average fare..desserts disappointing. Walls of the restaurant needed a good cleaning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    42
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strafford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really nice place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There is something to say about the restaurants in Portsmouth NH they have great food and atmosphere. We enjoy coming here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived without a reservation on a rainy, cold night at about 8:00pm. The environment is warm and inviting - very cozy and chic but with a relaxed feel. The waitstaff was wonderful and the food was simply outstanding. It was restaurant week in Portsmouth, so we got to try more than we might have on our own. I had a ceviche salad which was wonderful and different. My husband started with the mezze plate with seared tuna (WOW!), beef kibbeh, and roasted red pepper. For an entree I had stuffed egglplant with chickpeas, couscous,and harissa - a spicy pepper paste. It was so good. The dessert of dark chocolate cheesecake with salted ganache was the best I have ever had - so rich and perfect that I could not finish it. This restaurant will not disappoint you - go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything about this place is delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The atmosphere is great and intimate, the food is exquisitely prepared and absolutely excellent. I had a fantastic cream of truffle soup and incredible scallops. This is one of the best meals I've had in Portsmouth.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beyond superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If it is possible to have had a better dining experience than we did at the Black Trumpet, it is beyond me. What are the ingredients in an extraordinary meal at a restaurant? Great setting: check. Friendly, attentive, informative staff: check. Creative, fresh, superbly prepared, cooked, and presented food: check. A bill that doesn't leave you with any regrets: check. If I lived in Portsmouth, I would dine here on a regular basis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Trumpet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.