We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Stroll Package
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Belfast, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in the Homewood Suites when travelling from Boston to Bar Harbour so that we could shop at Kittery Outlets. Hotel is very much a home from home and served our purposes but if you are looking for beach views it is not the one for you. We booked a one bedroom suite and it was more than big enough for two adults and 3 teenage children.

Pros

Rooms are large and had everything you needed. It was just like a one bedroom appartment. Everything was very clean and fresh.
Pool and Fitness Room - While not large it was nice to have and very quiet. The facilities were kept very clean.
Staff - very pleasant and helpful. On one of the nights our daughter was extremely ill. While we managed to clean the room up it still needed further cleaning. When we mentioned this to one of the housekeeping staff her first reaction was to ask if our daughter was OK which I thought was great as she was not worried about the extra cleaning.
Shuttle - This is great as it meant we could go into Portsmouth for dinner and not worry about driving. Driver was very helpful and friendly.

Cons

Location - Not great if there for scenery but good for everything else. Hotel is in a very nice suburban area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    106
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
152
93
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have really enjoyed our experience at the Homewood Suites Portsmouth. We were really surprised that they were offering a dinner with 2 beers or wine for free. The breakfast was also very good and the suites spacious, clean and very adequate for us (full kitchen included). We also liked the fact that we can use firepits during the evening. We chose this hotel because we wanted an hotel a little bit outside Ogunquit to go to the beach and visit the area (20-25 minutes from there). Although, we had some issues when we arrived. The dishes were dirty in the dishwasher and we found a dirty suck on the floor. The next day, after advising the front desk, they fixed the issue and cleaned everything but we did not received any compensation for this. We also asked for an extra chair in the room because we were 4 people and the hotel staff told us this was not possible. The breakfast area was also very crowdy (there were no more tables available when we arrived) and they were a bit slow to add food in the buffet. We also asked for extra towels in the room during the reservation process and this was not done. We had to pick up extra towels at the front desk every time. Altough these minor issues we really enjoyed our stay and we would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to enjoy the area because it has many features that comperable hotels does not have for the price!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had 18 members of our extended family stay in the Homewood Suites, Portsmouth for a reunion. The accommodations were ideal for our gathering and the entire staff was eager to assist with everything we asked. The location is only 10 minutes from the historic downtown, and we often used to shuttle. We highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south kingstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location is very close to the purpose of our trip.Pamela in the frontdest is very helpful for accomodating my request if I can stay in the same room for the following night since my other reservation is in a different room.Will definitely stay here again in our future trip around this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were number one fan of this hotel but this year, we found that the place needed a little bite more attention. We found stains on the sofa, food in the living room miror, chips around the bath. In the dining area, the highchairs were always very sticky as the tables.The quality is still there but I di not know if they change the managing team, but these détails are very important for us. However, most of problems were always fixed with a smile. We had nice vacation, and this hotel is still a very good choice in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. I have addressed the cleanliness issues regarding the tables and high chairs in the lodge as well as detail around sofa beds. We will be getting a refresh come November that will benefit the overall condition. Please come back with us again and reach out to me when making your reservation. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and had a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was an amazing find. We loved the hotel so much, we were tempted to just hang out there at night. This all suite property is clean and has some surprising amenities. In addition to large suites with nice kitchens, the hotel also has a sports court, gas fire pits, full-size grills, bike racks and more. The staff are wonderful and you also get free breakfast and dinner!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel location is great. It offers easy access to Portsmouth and points beyond. The staff was exceptional and very welcoming during the 4-day stay. You were welcomed back every time you came back. The rooms were very clean. Great for families and groups of friends.

The pull out couch was comfortable to sleep on; don't say that very often.

We recommended to the hotel staff to replace one mattress that was in our room. They took are recommendation seriously.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, 4th. We were on the 3rd and the family above walked very heavy. We heard th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Portsmouth Homewood Suites
Portsmouth Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.