We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seasoned home fries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colby's Breakfast & Lunch

Colby's Breakfast & Lunch
105 Daniel St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
(603) 436-3033
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best seasoned home fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Inexpensive specials, bottomless coffee, vegetarian options, and well executed breakfast standards were great, but you want to arrive before 10am to avoid a long wait.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    50
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Colby's was fairly busy on both (weekday) mornings I ate there. It was a perfect place to start the day, and reasonably priced, too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I went to Colbys for breakfast on a Sunday-the wait was too long so we came back on Monday. It was still crowded but was seated promptly. Now I know why there is a wait. Very good breakfast. The place is small but has HUGE flavor. I ordered corned beef benedict and my husband had an omelet. We also ordered 1 blueberry pancake!!! The pancake was HUGE and omg soooooo good. Covered with butter and powdered sugar and filled with alot of fresh blueberries. My benedict was delicious and corned beef hash was homemade. The husband loved his omelet which came with homemade bread!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Too Good to Share (but I will anyway)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros: Colby's is THE local breakfast favorite in a small, historical tavern-like setting. The food is frickin' DELICIOUS and the coffee is basic but plentiful. Check out the creative, daily specials, written on a blackboard over the fireplace. Friendly, efficient staff.

Cons: Business side. No web page for times/dates; Unpredictable closing times. If they are open, be prepared to wait for this small town goodness!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice breakfast spot in downtown Portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We overheard some people this morning talking about how amazing their breakfast at Colby's was so we decided to walk over and check it out. The setting is classic Portsmouth with a cozy dining room and a nice patio with a few tables.

We waited about 10 minutes for a table, ordered, and our food came out quickly. Portions were large and the food was great. Pancakes are awesome!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby's Breakfast & Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Colby's Breakfast & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colby's Breakfast & Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.