We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast fit for Kings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colby's Breakfast & Lunch

Colby's Breakfast & Lunch
105 Daniel St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
(603) 436-3033
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 187 restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast fit for Kings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We consider Colby's the finest breakfast dining establishment in Portsmouth. Food is excellent. Comfortable atmosphere. Feels like home. You will not leave here hungry. Get there early because the line starts forming....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    69
    44
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just what you should expect in a breakfast-lunch joint. Good friendly service, large portions, fresh and tasty food. And much cleaner than its predecessor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“French Swirl Cinnamon Toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

need I say more? always busy ... Three days in a row and every day was excellent food and excellent service !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best breakfast option in Portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Colby's is the best breakfast option in Portsmouth. They can be relied on for interesting specials and all the basic options you might want. The setting is small / cozy and comfortable and the staff are friendly. A really nice place to grab a bite. My only complaint is the coffee is never as strong as we like it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate here twice while in Portsmoith this week. We are not big breakfast people, but I really enjoyed the yogurt with granola and chunks of fresh fruit. Very good coffee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby's Breakfast & Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Colby's Breakfast & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colby's Breakfast & Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.