We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 High Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A comparatively new hotel close to downtown Portsmouth. Rooms were decent and clean, basically what you would expect. I've stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn nearby as well and prefer that hotel because it comes with a kitchenette and living room area, as well as free breakfast, all for a similar price. But still had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Garden Inn and would still recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    216
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
146
248
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Service was amazing. Staff was amazing. From the valet at check-in to the bartender everyone was terrific. Friendly, accomodating. What a hotel experience should be! I Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We used this hotel for sleeping rooms, a conference room, a gathering space and a general, all-around "location central" for a recent group planning a 50th reunion. The reservations process was seamless, the follow-up was exceptional, the flexibility on all aspects of the stay was superb and we were all generally very impressed. Everyone we encountered was polite, helpful, pleasant and seemed truly interested in making all our arrangements run smoothly. The location could not be any more central or convenient and we will definitely use the property again either for meetings or simply to return to Portsmouth to see all the things we had no time for on this trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and that the services, amenities, and staff provided a convenient and comfortable stay. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. The staff are some of the best I have experienced in any hotel - they simply could not be more helpful and attentive. The only exception was Mark the breakfast chef - who could not have been more unfriendly - shame as that was the only negative. The gym, bar and bedrooms were all good, the standard of cleanliness was faultless. Would definitely recommend and return

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windham, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

For the past 2 years we have spent Thanksgiving in Portsmouth at the Hilton Garden Inn. The Hotel is beautiful and the customer service exceptional. We went shopping at the outlets in Kittery in Maine at 10pm and then did Black Friday at Fox Run Mall. We had a wonderful buffet dinner also at the Sheraton. Just a great stay and time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I go to Portsmouth every couple of months (great getaway driving distance from NYC). We have always stayed at the Sheraton, which was always very nice, but the Tripadvisor ratings had the Hilton Garden Inn as the highest rated hotel in town so we tried it. Very glad we did. Price was the same (a few dollars cheaper, actually) but the service was outstanding. From the moment we walked in, the valet and front desk were genuinely nice and over-the-top helpful. The entire hotel was spotless (room, common areas, restaurant, fitness center, everything). One of my pet peeves at hotels is the breakfast - they are consistently overpriced and not good quality. At the HGI, it was $11 for a buffet that included made to order anything, as much as you want. The restaurant staff was super friendly too. Another nice touch - I forgot my headphones, but the fitness center had complimentaries. Overall, the property was outstanding. I completely understand why this hotel is the highest rated on Tripadvisor. Bravo, Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us; I hope it was the first of many. Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a perfect stay on Thanksgiving night. From the moment we pulled up to the front door and were greeted by the smiling valet, until leaving the next day we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The young lady who signed us in was so helpful with suggestions, directions and advice. The manager for breakfast and his staff were all smiles and eager to please. This was the perfect location to walk to the restaurants and shops we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.