We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never wanted to leave!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
The Hotel Portsmouth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Court Street, Historic Downtown - Tel 433-1200, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates Start @ $119
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
New York City, New York
1 review
“Never wanted to leave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Sadly, we'd only reserved it for three nights. This was the best hotel experience ever! The deluxe queen room was the perfect size for two, the bathroom heaters were awesome, beds were super comfy (never woke up on time to make the complimentary breakfast for this reason, although I'm sure that was awesome too), and the hotel was within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go! It was also super affordable for two young people on a budget. And Chris was the best. I get sad reminiscing about this trip because I want to experience this all over again!!

So so so so so so good! I miss you Hotel Portsmouth, I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
109
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, NH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stay at this hotel once a week all winter and it is a terrific place. The staff could not be better, friendly and helpful and ready to go an extra mile.

It is an older hotel that has been completely remodeled. Quiet. Very classy and yet homey. Clean to the MAX.

Well located, all restaurants downtown are within an easy walk.

Nice offerings in the a.m. for breakfast. (for being continental) Also easy walk to some great breakfast places downtown if you like a more hearty fare.

Room Tip: Don't want to give away my favorite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay was over two months ago (early November), but I felt so much pressure to post a review worthy of our experience that I've procrastinated until now. I was looking for a unique place to spend a long weekend before a business trip nearby and The Hotel Portsmouth met my every expectation. We found the hotel the perfect combination of charm and sophistication. Our King deluxe room was spacious, clean, comfortable and stylishly (but not fussily) decorated. The room's appointments included a king bed, two comfortable armchairs and an iPod mini loaded with links to local attractions, shops and restaurants. There was plenty of room to spread out and relax.
We were located at the top of the beautiful main stairs (room 212), directly above the front lounge, but the noise reported by some reviewers was not a problem, even though the hotel was full on Saturday. In fact, we found it quite convenient to run downstairs to the breakfast room for coffee, ice and water, so I would definitely request that specific room again.
The proximity to downtown Portsmouth restaurants and shops could not be beat - it was so much easier to leave the car and walk. We popped in and out all weekend.
Breakfast was modest - coffee, fruits, yogurts and juice, bread, cereal and bagels. It was more than adequate, but we did forego it for a leisurely breakfast downtown one morning.
The staff was very helpful - making recommendations and reservations for local restaurants and engaging in conversation with my chatty husband.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel Portsmouth is everything you'd hope it would be ... and then some. The property itself is gorgeous, cozy and welcoming. The staff may be even better. The folks who work at this hotel are by far the nicest, most helpful hotel staff we've ever encountered. You feel taken care of from the moment you walk up to the front desk. We will most definitely stay at this hotel every time we visit the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Hotel Portsmouth for the first time. The hotel is very inviting the the staff was incredible. The hotel is old and shows its age, but that's what gives it its character. It is not a large chain hotel, and may not be right for people looking for that. The Our room was comfortable and as with the rest of the hotel, it shows its age. The walls and ceilings seem thin so we could hear people above and to the side of us. Not so much that it was a bother.

There are a couple of rooms on the first floor with couches where you can sit and relax. One of the rooms has a gas fireplace, that was on during the late afternoon. We did go to the complementary breakfast, and it was a very limited selection. It was fine for us, but it would not substitute for an all-inclusive breakfast. Pastries, breads (bagels, English muffins, etc.), yogurt, etc., plus coffee in large thermos containers.

The reason for my five stars is that the hotel provided everything I expected in a small, boutique hotel, and the pleasant and helpful staff really made all the difference! I would not hesitate staying there again, and recommending it for anyone looking to stay in this type of hotel.

Finally, the hotel was located within easy walking distance of everything that downtown Portsmouth has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a trip that was a combination of both business and pleasure, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Portsmouth. It truly feels like a home away from home, not only because of the amenities and the attention paid to detail, but owners Doug & Dan and the staff really did a great job making us feel welcome. Friendly, accommodating, helpful with restaurant and local shopping suggestions, they take all of the guess work out of where to go & what to do. Having all of downtown Portsmouth within short walking distance from the hotel, we parked our car in the parking lot and didn't have to drive all until it was time to check out.
Plush bedding, fluffy towels, in-room iPads with free wi-fi, along with a complimentary breakfast have made this hotel our first and only choice when we're visiting Portsmouth. Thanks very much for a great stay! We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first stay in Portsmouth, NH and we chose The Hotel Portsmouth. A charming hotel with so much character. We wish we could have stayed more than one night!

It's a great location with stores, shops, and restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel provides a map of the town with all great recommendations to dine, shop, and explore. We stayed in January and the town was still lively and quaint.

Originally when I booked to stay here I selected a queen deluxe. When we arrived (which was earlier than 3pm, the standard check in time) Dana without hesitation welcomed us in and upgraded our room to a king deluxe and got us all settled. She also recommended some great places to grab a bite, since we arrived on a day the New England Patriots were playing in the playoffs.

The room was absolutely gorgeous. A beautiful modern vintage feel. Cozy and spacious. Very clean. Everything about this hotel is just homey and warm. A small variety of pastry, yogurts and fruit are available in the morning, but if you're looking for a big breakfast i would suggest going out into town. All the necessities are here, and its spotless clean. Highly recommend for a weekend getaway with a loved one. There is no doubt the next time we visit Portsmouth we will be checking in here!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 40 Court Street, Historic Downtown - Tel 433-1200, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown, historic Portsmouth's newest hotel: 32 guest rooms and suites, conference rooms and meeting spaces. Housed in an 1881 Queen Victorian mansion, The Hotel Portsmouth is Portsmouth's only non-chain, full service, independently owned boutique hotel. Modern conveniences include in-room iPads, free WiFi, luxurious bathrooms, 24 hour front desk, concierge services, & free parking with every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.