We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure in the Heart of Portsmouth!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
The Hotel Portsmouth
40 Court Street, Historic Downtown - Tel 433-1200, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall rates start at $119!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Fort Lauderdale FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Treasure in the Heart of Portsmouth!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not one detail spared. We stayed here during a conference my husband was attending. The room was so clean, very hipster meets Victorian contemporary sheik! Our family loved it and Exploring the city of Portsmouth! Very fun gift shop. Picked up blueberry pancake mix and a cool tee shirt and got a bottle of maple syrup! Special shout out to Chris for providing us background history about the hotel and Raya for her dining recommendations, hospitality, greetings and for her absolute professionalism! This should top the list of Americas favorite B&Bs if it doesn't already! loved the blue mason jars, the nautical chess room, the parakeet wallpaper in the kitchen. KUDOS Team Hotel Portsmouth!

Room Tip: Our room had a second twin bed behind French doors for privacy and we requested a pack n play for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Yes, we stayed in the ADA room but it was perfect for our situation. The room is unique in many aspects from the trendy shower, nice amenities and great king size bed. Only one chair in this room but there are two nice seating areas in the lobby where you can enjoy a glass of wine plus a nice breakfast room. The staff is amazing. We also think it was a great value compared to the other options in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here off and on over the years, and find that everything just gets better! The staff is friendly and most helpful (offered to make me coffee at 4:30 am when I couldn't sleep- I didn't need to ask!) The location is very convenient to everything in downtown Portsmouth, so we always park the car in their large lot (behind the inn) and walk. Small things matter too: we love the sparkling water tap-- seltzer 24 hours a day!

Room Tip: We had room 103-- nice and quiet, in November, anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent experience. The hotel is beautiful and convenient to everything downtown. Staff and accommodations exceeded our expectations. . . and we travel a lot. Highly recommend and we will go back when we're in Portsmouth next time. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The cutest, friendliest, quaintest hotel with the best location for walking to Market Square! It's a B&B feel with all the amenities of a hotel.

We stayed in The Loft, which was was two stories with a full bathroom, sitting area, and TV downstairs, and a king-sized bed, TV, and 3/4 bathroom upstairs. I loved that the room had fantastic architecture with a narrow staircase, vaulted ceilings, and skylights. As a person who likes to carry-on luggage, I also appreciated that it came with a hair dryer and awesome Malin + Goetz toiletries.

It was a quick, three block walk to where Market Square started, and it was nice to not have to worry about parking on those streets. The hotel staff were so nice that I think they must be aliens... they also had great recommendations for places to eat and see.

Other pros: Dedicated parking lot, free WiFi, iPad loaded with recommendations, free sparkling/still water dispenser in the kitchen

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my husband here for a whirlwind overnight birthday trip. We'd not been away from our kid together since he was born three years ago and were looking forward to eating insanely good food, walking around this cute port city, and staying somewhere centrally located that didn't feel like a giant chain.

The Hotel Portsmouth was *perfect*: intimate and adorably decorated, with two of the sweetest sitting rooms and a darling breakfast nook. More hip and modern than any B&B we looked at, the staff at the Hotel Portsmouth clearly cares about the small details that make you feel comfy away from home. Luxe toiletries, an iPad loaded with local food reccs, seltzer on tap, local beers available by room service … we were seriously impressed. We stayed in the Garden room--which has its own outdoor sitting space--and next time will definitely bring our dog.

Nice work, team HP! We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As one of only 2 independent hotels in Portsmouth, the Hotel Portsmouth is a unique gem. It is originally a large family home, converted to a boutique hotel. The breakfast room is serene and well provisioned; continental breakfast includes coffee, tea, juices, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and a selection of pastries and toasted items. The rooms are pretty, comfortable and clean. I travel for business and this hotel more than lived up to my two main criteria: a comfortable bed, and soft towels. The service is outstanding, with friendly and attentive staff. This hotel is my #1 choice in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 40 Court Street, Historic Downtown - Tel 433-1200, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown, historic Portsmouth's newest hotel: 32 guest rooms and suites, conference rooms and meeting spaces. Housed in an 1881 Queen Victorian mansion, The Hotel Portsmouth is Portsmouth's only non-chain, full service, independently owned boutique hotel. Modern conveniences include in-room iPads, free WiFi, luxurious bathrooms, 24 hour front desk, concierge services, & free parking with every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.