We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-town Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
The Hotel Portsmouth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Court Street, Historic Downtown - Tel 433-1200, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPRING Rates Start @ $129
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Belfast, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In-town Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A friend sent me a list of possible places to stay in the Portsmouth, NH area and I decided on this one based on location and price (which was NOT expensive). I got so much more than I anticipated. This place is charming--an old inn completely renovated with comfy beds, large flat screen TVs, totally remodeled bathrooms, accommodating staff, and free breakfast. It's in the middle of the downtown area within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants, etc. Another great feature: you get a parking space behind the hotel so you don't have the hassle of feeding the meter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
144
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We wanted to try something different instead of the same Hotel Chains and we got it with this lovely large mansion transformed into a a beautiful Hotel.
We stayed in a deluxe King for 3 nights.The rooms are a good size but the bathroom is on the small side. Shower has a half glass wall, very nice looking but it makes for a chilly shower.
The TV is nice and large and the King bed is AWESOME. Nice linens and Big King pillows.
The desk area is a good size but it’s missing a desk lamp and a mirror.
Rooms do not have coffee pots but I think it's offered in the breakfast room near reception desk.
Nice touch to have IPads in every room loaded with local information and music.
The parking is included and the location is excellent to walk around downtown to shops and eats.
I would recommend this place to others coming to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This charming unique hotel is fabulous!! I absolutely loved it!
Chris at the front desk is full if great information and wonderful, iPads with information in every room and very chic and a must on your list to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The good points of this hotel are described by reviews below, but if you like a firm bed, this is not the place for you. Stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms, so I think the generalization probably holds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortAle, Owner at The Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello Peter,
We were sorry to hear you were displeased with our new Serta Presidential Suite Pillowtop mattresses. We understand it is difficult to provide one mattress that will appeal to all travelers. We have had an overwhelming positive response to this premium hotel grade mattress. So much so that we often have to give the manufacturer name and style number to guests checking out that had an incredible night's sleep and wish to purchase one for their home. We were happy to hear that you did find our previous reviews here accurate and the remainder of your stay with us was positive. Thank you for your feedback.
Best,
Doug - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Looking for something out of the ordinary while inviting and comfortable, The Hotel Portsmouth is a must. Perfect location in walking distant of everything. Beautiful room, upscale bathroom and super friendly and accommodating staff!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent last evening and loved it!
Always enjoyed the property when it was The Sise Inn, but it was getting very tired in the past few years . We love old buildings and always appreciate it when we see such loving care being put into a renovation.
Chris, a manager, was there and making sure all was in order. We had a great experience at check in, sorry I cannot remember her name, but she was wonderful.
Even tho we now live in the Seacoast area, it is fun to spend an evening in Portsmouth and we will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here last year in august. We had not pre-booked and called ahead to check for availability. We were met by the lovely hostess, who gave us nice recommendation for what to do in Portsmouth.
The Inn is clean and so pretty, we had a fantastic nights sleep, and breakfast was basic, but great.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 40 Court Street, Historic Downtown - Tel 433-1200, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown, historic Portsmouth's newest hotel: 32 guest rooms and suites, conference rooms and meeting spaces. Housed in an 1881 Queen Victorian mansion, The Hotel Portsmouth is Portsmouth's only non-chain, full service, independently owned boutique hotel. Modern conveniences include in-room iPads, free WiFi, luxurious bathrooms, 24 hour front desk, concierge services, & free parking with every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.