We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mermaid Island Grill

Blue Mermaid Island Grill
116 High Street, 409 The Hill, Portsmouth, NH
603-427-2583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 187 restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Corning NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Met local friends there because the owner is the son of a close friend from back home. Lovely old ship captains home from 1700s. Loved the Caribbean grilled bananas and especially the saddle bags ( fried wontons stuffed with chicken, cheese and herbs.) A definite destination when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    45
    51
    11
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service was great, the food although I was a bit unsure, turned out to be very good suggestions and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere was just perfect.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Reggae dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner at the Blue Mermaid in a caraibic atmosphere. We ate outside while in the restourant a reggae DJ played caribbean music. Volume was not so loud so it was possible to speak with a normal voice. We took a salmon salad and a mahi mahi with wasabi sauce. Everything was very good and tasteful. It is not accessible to wheelchairs or stroller. The restaurant is a little bit pricey but it is worth to be tried at least one time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtbldb
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arw on the raod and hungary. park and find the closest place to duck in for lunch. I am hooked right away by the reggae music and interesting of items on the menu. The kiddies enjoyed a burger and chicken from the kids menu. The adults all loved their entrees... scallpos, mahi wrap and cup of lobster corn chowder with half of fantastic grilled tomato goat cheese soup. fun and delish!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Such A Great Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been to this restaurant more than once and it is consistently a mediocre or less than satisfying experience. I wish I could like thisplace and I have tried more than once. The service is poor and the food is sloppy. Overall, the atmosphere is beach-like grubby. I like the theme that they are trying to achieve, but they need to make it less tarnished and ratty, I actually had to walk ouot during one attempt as the waiter simply dropped off the drink coaster and never returned. I would not recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mermaid Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mermaid Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mermaid Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.