We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good stop in portsmouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rira

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rira
Market Square, Portsmouth, NH
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“a good stop in portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

for drinks with friends or to stop in for the live music. all the bands they book are usually good for a wide range of audiences. i usually have fun whenever i stop in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Decent food, friendly service, beautiful decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Better than average pub food here, with an effort towards imagination and creativity. Service is friendly and prices reasonable.

The best feature is the décor. It's a recycling of a ca. 1900 bank interior, with woodwork and European-style murals on the ceiling. A very pleasant space in which to relax and pass an hour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Terrific Guiness Stew! Inexpensive and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We went to RiRa just before the Portsmouth Music Hall's Holiday Pops concert and glad we did. The service was great, the entrees were varied, lots to choose from and not very expensive. The bar crowd was lively and fun. The restaurant occupies an old bank building, so we sat in a converted bank vault, which was outstanding. The restaurant is located right on Market Square so it's convenient to central parking and shopping. We did not feel rushed and the our server was attentive and pleasant. We plan to return when back in Portsmouth!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Had a great post wedding party at Rira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My son got married in Portsmouth on 9/28 and after the wedding ended at 9:00, 2/3rds of the wedding party headed over to Rira. That Saturday night, there was a live cover band and the music was really great. We had drinks and snacks served in the upstairs balcony and then people could go downstairs and dance.
Most people stayed until 1:00 and a good time was had by all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best battered fish and chips ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Frist the food: Four of us went to RiRa in Portsmouth a couple weeks ago on a Friday for an early supper. We had heard that on Fridays they offer a "happy hour" special of Fish & Chips for only $9.95 (regularly $14.95). The timing worked out for us, so we all ordered the F&C, as well as beers or wine at the happy hour discount rate, plus an appetiser. I had their white shandy--fabulous! Best I've had since I was in England. The fish was very fresh, a generous portion, and was batter fried to perfection. The fries were excellent too, and the meal came with a traditional English side of mashed peas. Sounds awful, but was really good--made with fresh sweet peas. There were plenty of other good options on the menu, many Irish items, all at reasonable prices, for those not interested in fish and chips.

Now for the setting: the restaurant is in what was once an old bank, and they did a great job on the renovations. It's right on Market Square, so convenient, though parking is the usual challenge in downtown Portsmouth. Because we were there early, there weren't too many customers yet, and it was fairly quiet. I have been there once later on a Saturday night, and at that time it's crowded, especially in the bar area, and noisy. They have music late in the evening which adds to the noise, so plan accordingly if you're looking for a quieter dining experience. Service was excellent--friendly, attentive but not rushed at all.

We're already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rira also viewed

 

Been to Rira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.