We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Rib!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dinnerhorn Bratskellar

Dinnerhorn Bratskellar
980 Lafayette Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
(603) 436-0717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rye, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prime Rib!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are looking for great seafood and the best prime rib in the seacoast, you must visit the Dinnerhorn. Awesome service, friendly, helpful wait staff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been going there for 20 years. It used to be nearby but we moved an hour away and still go there when we are in the area. If you like handmade crispy pizza, this is the place for you. We usual sit in the Bratskellar pub, but the restaurant is good (3-4 stars). Large booths and tables for families. Have taken young grandchildren. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bratskellar is pretty plain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Bratskellar is a pub-like section in the back of the Dinnerhorn. The Kellar is not much of a German Bratskellar. Having eating there, I still don't know what this pub is about. They served only one German item- Bratwurst, beers are few and rest of the menu is very scattered - Pizza's, Greek, Seafood's, American ? ? Prices seem cheaper than at the front (Dinnerhorn).

We ordered Greek Salad and supreme pizza and both were pretty tasteless; pizza served without cheese or much cheese. Overall disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I can't agree with the raves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Finally went to the Bratskellar/Dinnerhorn for dinner last night. Needless to say, it did NOT live up to expectations. We had gotten pizza there last week (take out) and the place was mobbed! Understand me, I have high expectations when I see lines waiting for tables, however the food was borderline almost poor. The waitstaff however were fabulous which is why I gave it a 3 instead of a 2. Coconut shrimp was thick with batter that was not light but too heavy. Stuffed mushrooms were soggy and flavorless. Ahi Tuna was just ok. Our waiter was great, he explained how they had renovated the restaurant and it looked very good. We didn't complain about the food because - afterall - its not his fault the food was bad. Being from the NYC area, I have had fabulous pizza and you can't find good NY style pizza in Portsmouth. Theirs is good but it's more Greek style. I think one even had brats and onion on it! Won't being going back, I was really hoping to like this one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great dining out fornt, awesome food drinks and apps out back something for everyone. Very good steaks and seafood, quality products. Great apps and atmosphere in the Bratskellar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinnerhorn Bratskellar also viewed

 

Been to Dinnerhorn Bratskellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinnerhorn Bratskellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.