We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt in your mouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mediterraneo

Cafe Mediterraneo
119 Congress St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4005
603-427-5563
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 160 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Boston MA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stopped for lunch on a snowy day. Restaurant with a few clientele. Had a nice glass of wine with a scrumptious plate of shrimp and scallops over baby spinach in a cream sauce. Penne bolognese was also very good. Service excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    24
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Italian, but Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing.
The meal got off to a poor start with my husband's mussels not quite cooked enough so that some did not open and others were chewy. My warm spinach salad had too much vinegar, so much so that the spinach was covered with it. The server asked it there was a problem since I had eaten little of it, and she quickly agreed that it looked overly dressed, and she removed it from the bill.
Our entrees - chicken picatta & veal parmesan were both good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We tried this around Christmas time. 1st time eating in Portsmouth that we didn't got to a seafood place. If you time it right, (6:30 pm ish), and got a window seat, you could watch the Christmas parade while you ate. Though the crowds would obscure it a bit. Very nice atmosphere. Food was very good and the menu selection was good as well. Price was ok for Portsmouth. Excellent location. Whet here before a show at the music hall which is about 100 yards, (100 meters for our international friends) away. Service was adequate. Not spectacular but attentive. Atmosphere was nice. Very comfortable and what you would expect at an Italian restaurant. It wasn't too busy but we ate at 5:00pm. I would make recommend reservations if it is a busy time of year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We ate here this summer as a family and it was a delightful meal. The atmosphere is fun and the restaurant is gorgeous. Our food and our service was very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good reason to visit Portsmouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant, with a pretty comprehensive menu, a delicate hand in the kitchen, and excellent service. It may seem like standard Italian-American at first glance, and the menu is more generic than regional, but the cooking is careful and reminiscent of Italy itself!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.