We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teriffic Beer Selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Moose Taphouse

Thirsty Moose Taphouse
21 Congress Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
603-427-8645
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Thirsty Moose Taphouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pizza, Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Boston
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Teriffic Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped in for a quick drink on a hot day and were very impressed with their beer selection. They have all their beers listed by type that will help if you're not familiar with names. The staff was friendly and efficient. We would go back again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Hampton, NH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch - Outstanding selection of beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Quick and casual with a great atmosphere. Amazing selection of beer from the US with a few selections from around the globe. After sampling the offerings I'm satisfied that adding more imported beer is simply not necessary.
On two occasions we have tried sandwiches and burgers, appetizers and sides. All of the locally prepared food is very good - above average - and worthy of frequent returns.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Microbrews and tasty snacks in Downtown Portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are looking for some creative bar food and an array of microbrews, look no further than the Thirsty Moose in downtown Portsmouth. This restaurant and pub has no less than 116 brews on tap to select from and a very friendly staff to serve you as well. We tried the Moose balls, pulled pork and slaw wrapped in an egg roll wrapper and deep fried and then served with some tasty BBQ sauce. Yummy! They have a nice choice or burgers, sandwiches and pizzas, and there were rave reviews from other visitors about the Buffalo Chicken Dip.. They also have music in the evenings, including a country/bluegrass feature band for early evening on Sundays. All in all, a fun hangout for some tasty treats and a cold one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stupendous Beer Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a fun place to bring friends to celebrate anything. The beers were varied and delicious. Add this place as a sure hit while in Portsmouth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“An assault on the senses”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just to get through dinner I had to close my eyes for thirty second periods. Imagine a cavernous space filled to the gills with bright light bulbs, flat screen TVs, and mirrors. Add to that unnecessarily loud music and chairs that scrape the floors at high decibles. We sat at a high-top table next to a giant mirror, where we could hear every chair at the nearby bar and I was forced to see not just every TV screen but also their doubles in the mirror.

It's a wonder I didn't have a seizure.

Our waitress had trouble taking our orders because her hearing was shot, as she explained, "from working in this place."

Some of you may come here for the beers. 116 on tap. Sounds impressive. Well, not really. Most of them came from the same large handful of breweries. There was not much we hadn't come across before, although it was nice to have some selection. Given the Disneyfied, corporate atmosphere, I couldn't help but think that this place simply reflected what happens when high-brow beer culture is reduced to the lowest common denominator. Even 21-year-old boys in backwards baseball caps will drink Belgian beer if you tell them that it's the new Bud Light. Not only can you see this phenomenon at the Thirsty Moose, you can see it twice in the giant mirrors!

So, I wasn't impressed by the atmosphere or the clientele. Just as bad was my food.

My spouse had a hamburger that was decent, but I suffered perhaps the laziest chef salad in the history of mankind. Not content to actually do the work of chopping the ham, the turkey, and the cheese, the kitchen staff rolled deli slices of swiss, ham, and turkey together, cut them in half, and served them on a bed of lettuce and vegetables like some sort of protein-hybrid fruit roll-up. Not only was it unappetizing, the protein rolls made the salad difficult to eat.

Making matters worse, the Thirsty Moose Taphouse charged us for my club soda. I was the designated driver, and most bars and restaurants don't charge for water--even water with carbon dioxide--in support of designated drivers. You'd think that a restaurant that features ads for other businesses on its coasters would be making enough money not to charge for club soda.

I can only imagine that the extra revenue goes towards the enormous and ubiquitous TVs that ruined our evening.

We won't back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Moose Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Moose Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Moose Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.