We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freedom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Portsmouth

Discover Portsmouth
10 Middle St., Portsmouth, NH 03802
603.436.8433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Attraction Details
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Freedom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great time looking at all the shops and your new bridge. There was a lot of nice places to sit and have a drink and made you feel like you don't have any cares in the world.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“GREAT RESOURCE FOR VISITORS & LOCALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Discover Portsmouth a great resource for visitors and locals.

It's a branch of the Portsmouth Historical Society. It's housed in two historic Federal-style buildings dating back to circa 1810---one was formerly the home of grocer Thomas Morton, the other was first Portsmouth Academy, next home to a Civil War memorial, then Portsmouth's first public library.

Here a visitor can watch a short film on the history of Portsmouth, see the free art exhibits, get tourist information from staff, pick up travel brochures, and browse the museum gift shop/bookstore.

I'm local, and I visit Discover Portsmouth at least three times a year to see the exhibits in the two galleries and to see what's new.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant and courteous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very friendly and good advice from the staff; clean bathrooms and nice gift shop. Coupons offered for places of interest, and good suggestions for lunch. Better map provided here than what you pick up in some of the shops. Stop here first if visiting Portsmouth, NH!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Glad we took the time to stop in New Hampshire. This was worth a night stay to see and and explore. We loved how quiet and relaxed the city was to stay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lot of information in one place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We happened to stop in here without knowing what it was, and we were greeted by very friendly folks anxious to tell us about Portsmouth and what their place had to offer. There is a nice room with a lot of history displayed, and you can view an interesting 12 minute video of the history of this town. This is a good place to start your visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Portsmouth also viewed

 

Been to Discover Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Discover Portsmouth to your Saves list