We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for everyone.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water Country

Water Country
2300 Lafayette Road, Portsmouth, NH
603-427-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 58 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No one packs more fun into a water park than Water Country! We’ve got over 26 acres of your kind of fun for the whole family. Then again, we are New England's Largest, Cleanest, Safest, and Friendliest Waterpark! With cabanas and picnic areas, Water Country is the perfect place for your next birthday, party, family reunion, or group outing. Attractions like the all new Dr. Von Dark’s Tunnel Of Terror, Adventure River, and the Tahiti Tree House for children, ensure everyone has a good time at Water Country!
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful place for family fun. It keeps you cool and provides everyone with perfect options for a good time, regardless of age.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    24
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must visit each summer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We come back every year and every year it gets better! The prices of food, snacks, lockers, life jackets all add up fast, so make sure you are prepared! I'm glad there are a few pools because sometimes the kids just want to swim. They are doing a great job keeping the place clean and updated!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a Summer's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to Water Country. I went on a Saturday, but it was supposed to rain (which was an incentive for me). Around 2pm a huge storm cloud came, and people scurried to leave the park. 30 mins later all the rides re-opened, and the park crowd was cut in half - PERFECT.

Fun rides, lazy river, and wave pool - i def suggest going on a cloudy day with a chance of rain, it somewhat weeds out the crowds!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimouski
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were lucky because there was pratically no line for the 5 hours we spent there. The weather was supposed to be horrible and the storm never showed up. Safe place for what we experienced. We let our belongings unwatched for all the day and Nothing happened. It's true that the slides are far away from each others. Expect to walk a lot if your kids don't want to do the same slides over and over.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day at Water Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I took my 15 yo son and 3 friends on July 12 and went again on July 19! I have to commend the staff at Water Country for cleanliness, attention to the guests and safety. On the 12 it was a cool overcast day, which means not too crowded. Every time I entered the ladies room there was someone cleaning it. I don't understand the comment that there was no one at the gate to great people, there are people inspecting bags and they tell you which line to go to from there. We bought our tickets ahead of time so we didn't need to wait. On July 19 it was 100 degrees and humid. Early on three kids exhibited signs of heat stroke while waiting in a line. There were immediately at least 10 staff running full speed bringing water and supplies. The situation was quickly handled and within a few minutes a hose brought out with a staff to mist people while they were in line. Staff started going up to groups of kids and reminding them to drink H2O. For the people that criticize; remember it is an outdoor water park. It WILL be crowded when it is hot, stuff from the trees will fall into the lazy river, people's hair and band aides will fall into the water...no different than the beach, the bathrooms will get crowded at 5:00 because the park closes around 6 and everyone is starting to change. The staff does an excellent job of managing cleanliness.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Country also viewed

 

Been to Water Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.