We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Priced, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Inn to your Saves list
The Port Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
PDX
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well Priced, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on the way from Cooperstown to Boston. We were checked in without trouble and the front desk were helpful and welcoming. Our rooms (we booked two of them) were exactly what you would expect from a hotel.
Despite being on a main thoroughfare, we couldn't hear any traffic noise in our rooms.
Breakfast was very simple, bagels, toast, coffee, juice. There is barely anywhere to sit in the breakfast room, but I understand the hotel is being renovated during the winter months.
We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at The Port Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We indeed are undergoing renovations and expanding the breakfast area, in fact that phase should be completed by mid December. We will also be adding a few more items to the breakfast line up, including a hot item. Be sure to check us out on your next return to Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    174
    42
    8
    1
See reviews for
118
208
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was looking forward to staying here because of all the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor. Overall, the room was spotless clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was good as well. What we didn't like was the greeting we received when we walked into the reception area. The woman (I didn't get her name) who was behind the desk said, "I'm in the middle of a reservation and check inn is not until 3:00 p.m." So right a way, we were turned off. She proceeded to tell me that our friends had already been in and she told them the same thing she just told us. She seemed annoyed that we hadn't checked with them to find this out prior to us trying to check in. When we met up with our friends they said, "did you meet the not so nice woman behind the desk?" We told them we in fact did and we had discussed that we would not be writing such a great review for The Port Inn based on her unwelcome greeting. By the way, we did stop back in the office after lunch and the room was in fact ready. The woman who was there earlier was no longer at the front desk and the young boy that was there was extremely pleasant and in fact said to us that the room was ready.

Room Tip: Stay in the building in the back off the main road, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at The Port Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at check-in with us. First, please accept our sincere apology for our less-than stellar service. We take great pride in our level of customer service, and we are very disappointed in your experience. Although check-ins before 3:00 can be difficult to accommodate, we do our best to get rooms ready as soon as possible for early arrivals, and we certainly expect that our staff will be warm and welcoming. Although we get it right about 99% of the time, we strive to eliminate every service defect. Your review has been shared with every member of the staff, and we are using your comments as an opportunity to improve our consistency. I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail. Please contact me at the hotel at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Bill MacDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A cozy & quiet little spot right off RT 95. Very polite staff. Extremely comfortable beds. Would stay again especially for the price. About 6 minutes from downtown Portsmouth. Breakfast wasn't bad but also wasn't the best but it was simple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Port Inn Nov 9th -11th for a weekend getaway in Portsmouth. The room was quiet and clean This hotel is located right of the highway and about 20 minute walk to downtown Portsmouth. We had a great experience when Cody, the desk clerk, got us a reservation for dinner at a nice restaurant during a busy restaurant week. Skip was loaded with knowledge about Portsmouth, directions and helpful hints about things to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We did not have reservations for a hotel on our recent sight seeing trip up the coast from Boston. We were looking for something reasonable, not too fancy. This was perfect. The employees were friendly, check in was easy and the room was clean and quiet. The guy working at the front desk suggested a Mexican restauraunt called Agave in Portsmouth which was excellent. I do have to say that the continental breakfast offered was nothing to write home about and left us wanting a real breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Port Inn with my mom while visiting a friend at UNH. The room (104) was SPOTLESS and very comfortable. Amenities were perfect, not too little or too much--great TV (with remote instructions!), desk with comfy chair, iron, microwave, fridge. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed. Front desk staff were accommodating but speedy without being brusque. Continental breakfast was fine--good coffee.

The only complaint I have is that it is far away from Portsmouth. Of course that is what it is, but if I went to visit Portsmouth again I would probably stay a little closer to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Inn

Address: 505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off U.S. Route 1 Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn include standard amenities as well as microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.