We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Inn

Save Saved
You added The Port Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Port Inn with my mom while visiting a friend at UNH. The room (104) was SPOTLESS and very comfortable. Amenities were perfect, not too little or too much--great TV (with remote instructions!), desk with comfy chair, iron, microwave, fridge. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed. Front desk staff were accommodating but speedy without being brusque. Continental breakfast was fine--good coffee.

The only complaint I have is that it is far away from Portsmouth. Of course that is what it is, but if I went to visit Portsmouth again I would probably stay a little closer to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    163
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
105
191
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We received a warm welcome on arrival after a tiring journey from the UK. Our room was nicely furnished, clean and warm. The weather was great for the time of year, so we walked to downtown to sample the first lobsters of our trip. The people on reception were always willing and able to help and offer local advice. We'll stay at the Port Inn again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room was nice and clean. We were located in a corner unit and it was surprisingly quiet considering the place is off a 4 lane by-pass. Little to no traffic noise.

Breakfast is a carb-fest with breads, sweets, bagels, even a gluten free option for those following the latest fad.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice. Scramble parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Whilst the Port inn appears to be like a motel it is a good clean friendly place, much more a Hotel. Our room in the separate block at the rear was quiet, clean and tasteful. Wi-fi was good and we even had a kitchenette in the room. Staff were very helpful and a light bread and cake type breakfast was available buffet style in the front reception. This was the only oddity as one had to be there at a suitable time to get useful seating from which to eat. Great news was that it was only a 10-15 minute walk down the quiet roads to get into Portsmouth town. overall very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at The Port Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With our upcoming conversion to the Ascend Collection of Hotels, we are undertaking a major lobby renovation, including expanding the breakfast area to accommodate more tables and chairs for dining. Many guestrooms are also being renovated in the style of our sister property, Port Inn Kennebunk, which is a member of the Ascend Collection. We look forward to these exciting changes. Again, thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you in Portsmouth or Kennebunk in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this motel. Our room was a comfortable size, very clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and gave us good information on restaurants and local attractions. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked this motel/hotel for a one night sleepover based on the Tripadvisor reviews and the absolutely fair price.

The hotel is easily accessible from I-95 and US-1, and is well-kept, with a fair size rooms, which are clean and with an OK decor. The included continental breakfast was OK for the price, and the people at the reception were all friendly and smiling.

For the price this is a "very good" - as rated - one-night or two-night hotel at the gateway to Maine or for a daytrip to White Mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Inn

Address: 505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Port Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA Three Diamond property has newly renovated guestrooms offering comfortable accomodations, modern amenities and a friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.