We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we chose this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Inn to your Saves list
The Port Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   505 U.S. 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad we chose this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We didn't like Portland so we cancelled our reservations and left. Now we had no place to stay. 2 days left on our vacation, we decided to see New Hampshire, we were vacationing in Maine. After staying at The Port Inn in Kennebunk, which we loved, we decided to call from our cell phone The Port Inn In New Hampshire! So glad we did. They were very accommodating. They gave us a room that day for 2 nights at a great rate, and was awaiting our arrival. This place & grounds are very clean. The rooms are very cozy, Flat screen TV, nice clean heated pool with new furniture, friendly & courteous front desk staff. Breakfast was standard and good for continental. Cookies, coffee, & ice water in the afternoon. Right down the road is a Liquor warehouse/store with great prices and NO TAX. Portsmouth has so much to offer and The Port Inn is close to everything at a value price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    187
    46
    11
    1
See reviews for
137
232
24
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spent only one night here while on business in the area. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. As others have noted, there was no noise from the nearby highway. Continental breakfast was good: organic coffee, pastries and bagels, yogurt, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for a reservation. If you are a business traveler, be sure to say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very helpful and knowledgeable staff; clean, comfortable room at a good rate.
We will definitely stay here again and recommend without hesitation. A change from the chains I usually stay in, with nice décor and good shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a nice Inn for the price. Our room was very nice and comfortable. There is a little construction on the way to downtown Portsmouth, which is a short distance away. Good coffee, very nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I was nervous at first because we got a very good price on the room and it was a small non chain hotel. When we got there it was right off the highway and the staff were very friendly. The room was quaint- nothing special- but all we needed was one night before we headed up to Maine. The fact that this hotel allowed our dog for $20 was the biggest selling point.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was very nervous when we arrived because the Inn is located off a major road. I worried that the traffic noise would be terrible. The room was very, very quiet though (and we slept with the windows open). The bed and bedding were fabulous. Beautiful full size granite shower. Fridge and micro in room an added bonus. Great continental breakfast included. For the price, you really can't beat The Port Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A really nice place. Staff was so friendly and the room was very clean. Free continental breakfast was nice. Left a hat in the room and was able to pick up the next day. Will return again on our next trip to Portsmouth

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Inn

Address: 505 U.S. 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off U.S. Route 1 Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn include standard amenities as well as microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.