We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Inn to your Saves list
The Port Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great room for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was very nervous when we arrived because the Inn is located off a major road. I worried that the traffic noise would be terrible. The room was very, very quiet though (and we slept with the windows open). The bed and bedding were fabulous. Beautiful full size granite shower. Fridge and micro in room an added bonus. Great continental breakfast included. For the price, you really can't beat The Port Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    175
    42
    8
    1
See reviews for
118
211
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A really nice place. Staff was so friendly and the room was very clean. Free continental breakfast was nice. Left a hat in the room and was able to pick up the next day. Will return again on our next trip to Portsmouth

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This motel is only a couple miles away from downtown yet a lot more affordable than the downtown hotels. Room was spacious and clean. I left my iPad behind in the room and about an hour after we left I had an email from the motel staff letting me know. Ver much appreciate the honesty and quick action!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is very quiet and a short drive to downtown Portsmouth. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Staff provided a map showing the back roads to take into downtown Portsmouth along with good suggestions on parking. Good continental breakfast. Rooms were very clean. I would stay here again when travelling to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK CITY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just what we needed. It's nice to find a non-chain motel that is friendly, clean & simple. Decent breakfast, knowledgeable staff, nice pool, large rooms - near enough to the Portsmouth downtown & easy to find off I95.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Port Inn for one night. We are Seniors, and we found it to be a great place to stay. The queen sized bed was comfortable; room VERY clean; breakfast included; park very close to room; although off the highway, we left the window open all night a d weren't disturbed by noise - I'm a light sleeper too. We would recommend the Port Inn without hesitation. Also, owners are very accommodating,too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed one night, late August. The motel is conveniently located, excellently maintained and has that New England charming feel. We didn't use the pool, although it was clean and looked inviting.

We were travelling as a party of 3 and had booked a 2 doubled bedded room. The room was clean had a small fridge, microwave and sitting chair. It would have been a bit tight for a party of 4. The bathroom was a good size and well lit. The room had an in the wall air conditioning unit, which unfortunately was quite loud and not overly efficient. We had to turn it off to sleep, but then the room was too warm and had a slight musty smell. The smell was not unpleasant and not unusual for sea side based accommodations. My husband and daughter didn't even notice it.

The staff are exceptional. I had forgotten my toothbrush and was given one. Coffee and tea are available 24/7 in the lobby and they have fresh hot water for the tea. Good quality tea too. The breakfast was as is usual for motels/hotels, very carbohydrate heavy. However, the selection of pastries, small croissants and good quality breads was remarkable. Fresh fruit and yoghurt were also available.

We paid the standard web rate as we booked a day in advance only. Not sure if there are better deals, but I felt we received good value for the area and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Inn

Address: 505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off U.S. Route 1 Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn include standard amenities as well as microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.