We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Inn

Save Saved
You added The Port Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Skaneateles, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We needed a place to stay on the way to Rockport, Maine. We wanted to explore downtown Portsmouth and wanted a reasonably priced motel. We absolutely fell in love with Portsmouth and we adore The Port Inn! We were in one of the front rooms. We were not bothered one bit by Route 1 traffic. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice sized bathroom. The rooms are not huge but big enough for a quick stay. The décor is pleasant but I found the wallpaper to be a bit dated. Perhaps a fresh coat of paint rather than the patterned wallpaper would spruce up the look. We did not use the pool but it looked nice. Check-in and check-out was VERY quick and friendly. The breakfast and coffee were both very good. Yes, there are lots of carbs but my husband (who chooses to eat gluten free) enjoyed the fruit, the yogurt, and the rice cakes. You get a lot for your money here. Free wifi, breakfast, parking. Compare to the hotels in downtown, and you will be paying half the price. It is a quick trip to Market St and we had no trouble finding a parking place. Stay at the Port Inn if you need lodging in this part of NH!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    160
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
105
189
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended by the Portsmouth Chamber of Commerce. The hotel was clean with comfy and clean beds and pillows. Fridge, microwave, TV, hairdryer, nice heated outdoor pool and Wi-Fi service all included. Excellent service and a continental breakfast included. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I along with our ten month old twin girls recently spent a couple nights at the Port Inn during our New England road trip, and left with a truly exceptional experience to report. That said, here's our take on the Port Inn based on our two nights stay there:

First Impression/Arrival - Located right off of Highway 1, It's a motel-style inn (where you can drive up and park right in front of your room) that has a very warm, welcoming appearance as you drive in, having a very colonial look/feel to it. You really do get a sense that the owners take great pride in maintaining the property. Great first impression!

Front desk staff - The gentleman who greeted us at the desk upon our arrival was very warm, friendly and courteous. Almost immediately after walking up to the desk with our double stroller, he automatically offered us (at no extra charge) the inn's double room suite without hesitation. This was enormously helpful to us and were settled in our room within minutes after arriving. Overall, the staff there during our entire stay were incredibly helpful whenever we had any questions or queries on sightseeing, places to eat, etc., and left with a very positive impression. One night when we walked in late and looking for food delivery options, the man behind the desk offered to give us free pizza they had just ordered! Please tell me the last time a hotel anywhere extended this kind of hospitality!

Location - Perfect for those looking for a base while looking to explore Portsmouth and the surrounding area. As aforementioned, the Port Inn is located right off of Highway 1, one of the major arteries in and out, with the added convenience of being less than a 10 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. Very convenient location, top marks here.

Rooms - The highlight of our stay at the Port Inn. Very clean, spacious and comfortable, going well beyond typical motel/inn standards. As aforementioned, we were travelling with two 10-month olds, so the microwave and fridge equipped in our room were very handy. We even had enough room to set up our girls' playpens in a completely separate bedroom, something incredibly helpful in so many ways. I often find motel-style establishments very hit or miss in terms of quality and cleanliness, but left the Port Inn with both a comfortable two nights sleep and very positive impression with the level of quality this place offered.

Value - Amazing price/quality ratio. Fantastic rates for what you get back in return, and worth every penny spent. Much better in terms of quality and service when lined up against some of the much more expensive chain hotels we've stayed in over the years. Top marks for value!

The Bottom Line - What more can I say about the Port Inn that hasn't already been said? Its not often I dole out a perfect score, but our experience at the Port Inn was one that well deserves every accolade its received from previous guests. 5 out of 5, without question, and highly recommended to anyone whose top priorities include quality, cleanliness, friendliness and affordability. In other words, I'll definitely be returning someday.

P.S. Check out the Dinnerhorn Restaurant, a local place just a couple minutes drive highly recommended by the staff for some great food and a very pleasant dining experience. The staff were so accommodating when we walked in with our girls and booster seats in tow! Oh, and fantastic food too...

Room Tip: The double room suite is awesome, and perfect for those travelling with four or more in tow. Even a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We came up from Boston on a Saturday and hadn't booked a room anywhere. Not only was the hotel recommended and we were lucky enough to get a room but the staff was so friendly and nice to us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had an upgrade to our room on arrival and big room with kitchenette - very comfortable bed, attractive grounds, nice pool area- private and cool - staff very helpful - complimentary breakfast choices of yogurt, juices, great coffee, breads, etc. Very close to Portsmouth downtown attractions. We spent 6 nights there and will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are quiet - get a kitchenette - well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Inn was conveniently located off the highway and just a short drive to downtown Portsmouth. The people who were worked at the front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room itself was updated and clean. Great value!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back would be advisable so you would hear traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRASER
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great stop along our travels. The rooms are well kept and clean. having a fridge and micro were great. The entire grounds were well cared for as well and the pool it was great as well. The room seems to have been updated and looks good. The only 2 negative's I had was a musty smell in the room when the AC Unit was off. Once it was running it cleared up. The other is the room is small so if more than a couple people were in your group moving around could be a challenge. The common area where breakfast is served is clean and well cared for as well the continental breakfast is just that do not expect anything hot. Its muffins, toast, some fruit and yogurt. The Staff was fantastic. Warm and welcoming and always willing to help. The best meal I had on the East Coast was in this town so look at my review of the Dolphin Stryker.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice as this is a Motel setting. They are typical throughout. However the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Inn

Address: 505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Port Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA Three Diamond property has newly renovated guestrooms offering comfortable accomodations, modern amenities and a friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.