We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in our opinion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Inn to your Saves list
The Port Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Hitchin, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still the best in our opinion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were here recently (October 2012) but we wanted to reiterate that once again the Port Inn measured up to our previous review. It is the staff that make it - just very friendly and efficient all the time. I guess that most guests are returnees because everyone gave out a good vibe. And although there has been some criticism of the seating for the breakfast buffet - inside it's soft -furnished chairs and a settee in the lobby - I now think that this gives guests the opportunity to meet and chat together in a way that tables would not. Its location is also great at least for us - a quick zip to the Interstate or a short 5 mins drive to the buzzy centre of Portsmouth. Definitely our port of call every time for So Maine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    172
    40
    7
    1
See reviews for
115
202
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived on Sunday, July 14th around 2:00 PM. Our room was not ready, but we were early and they did state that check in time is 3:00 - they called the maid and asked her to make up our room immediately. We went downtown to Portsmouth for awhile and when we returned our room was ready. Upon check in we were told that there was an ice machine (free for our use) and a washer and dryer downstairs. The washer and dryer were only $1.00 each to use and the front desk said they had soap powder if we needed it. We had a room with a king size bed and the bed was really comfy, the AC worked wonderfully and the room was clean and roomy. I was surprised that we had a microwave/convection oven and a stove top. They had dishes, cutlery, pots and pans for your use along with soap and towels to wash your dishes.
We found the front desk staff all very helpful. Skip was the only front desk attendant that I didn't care for as I found him to be arrogant (but don't use this as an excuse not to stay here).
We did have trouble with our refrigerator and the front desk staff had the Maintenance Man (Randy) take care of it right away. Since we got to talk to Randy about our refrigerator we became friends and he told us of some of the good places to eat in Portsmouth. I enjoyed my (almost) daily talks with Randy.
I want to note that we had a card in our room that said that 'Tracie' would be cleaning our room all week. Please note that you should tip every day as you could have someone different cleaning your room every day.
We didn't eat the Continental Breakfast that the hotel offered with our room. I glanced one morning when I was in the lobby and it looked like toast, pastries, donuts, yogurt and fruit along with hot beverages (I could have missed something like bagels). The hot beverages and cookies were in the lobby all day. We enjoyed breakfast most mornings at Bettys that was 20 minutes down the road on Route 1 South (recommended by Randy).
The outdoor pool is clean, heated and is open till 10:00 every day.
Beside the pool there was tables with umbrellas and a grill - they even had charcoal there for your use.
The hotel was about 5 minutes from downtown Portsmouth. It is right along the highway by the roundabout. We had a room in the back of the building and it was quiet. The only noise I heard was the 'neighbors' upstairs running water for showers and one night an emergency vehicle going by. Other than that it was quiet and you couldn't really tell you had someone beside you or above you.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would book it through TripAdvisor as I got a really good deal on our room using my AAA discount (there is a discount for AARP also). Oh, yes, I want to note...when I booked this room we were going to leave on Thursday. I asked if we could stay one more night. The lady at the front desk said that was not a problem, she would put us in to stay Thursday night and to let them know if we changed our mind. They were nice enough to give me the rate that I was paying through TripAdvisor after I asked them to!

Room Tip: We had room 143 in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff is so friendly and extremely helpful… rooms are sooo clean. The pool is saltwater!! Best place to stay for your money in Portsmouth. Even the continental breakfast in the morning is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was looking for an inexpensive place to stay between Boston and Maine and the Port Inn fit the bill perfectly. Staff was very helpful when we arrived, and was able to get us into a room with a king size bed. Room was very comfortable, and the AC worked like a charm during the hot weather when we stayed. About a 3-5 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth, which was a great area to walk around with lots of cute shops and restaurants to check out. Breakfast was basic but adequate, and certainly enough to get us on the road and headed to Maine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Breakfast was a little weak but there are many food places around the area. The outdoor pool is nice if it's warm outside. The only con was parking. We went to a wedding and returned late at night to find all the spots near our room taken so we had to park a little far. Overall, its one of the more cost efficient places in the area. Def will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big A
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

needed an overnight pitstop on the way to acadia so was looking for something reasonably priced and moderately comfortable. we usually don't head for the cheapest place in town, we look more for value. but port inn was actually the cheapest place on kayak for that night. i checked out the reviews and decided to give it a shot.
overall very good experience and i must say it was excellent value. served the purpose and we had a comfortable, quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a nice, inexpensive, place to stay when visiting the Portsmouth area. It's about 5 minutes drive from downtown and Market St. Probably a bit far to walk...considering there are no sidewalks around that area. Rooms are a good size and clean. Shower pressure was good. Beds were comfortable. They have a saltwater pool that was nice to relax by/in in the afternoon. Staff were all very accommodating and helpful. The stay included a continental breakfast with a nice assortment of bagels/pastries/cereal/fruit/yogurt and, of course, coffee. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Inn

Address: 505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Port Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA Three Diamond property has newly renovated guestrooms offering comfortable accomodations, modern amenities and a friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.