We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheapest I could find in Portsmouth, and not bad at all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Portsmouth to your Saves list
Motel 6 Portsmouth
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
VT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The cheapest I could find in Portsmouth, and not bad at all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The room was what I was expecting, clean and basic. Seemed recently renovated, with fresh paint and flooring. Staff was friendly. The only downsides are the noise from the other rooms' doors closing, and a strong urine smell in one of the stairways. I would definitely stay there again, but use the elevator only.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    37
    23
    25
See reviews for
45
58
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

For the price they are charging this motel it's not worth it. We paid $197 for 2 nights .
Pros- rooms were renovated and no carpet on floors which is good. Rooms we're clean. Beds were comfy- I had much better tho but I also had really bad so this was ok.
Cons- no shampoo, no conditioner no hair dryer in the room. Walls are paper thin I heard people talk upstairs to me. No mini fridge in room. We had to pay $2.99 per night for wi if which is ridiculous. The motel is located on a main highway where it isn't accessible from across the street so we always had to do a u-turn to get to the motel. Very complicated to get to some places like Walmart from there. I won't be returning to this place - no thanks.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The only good thing to say is the girls behind the check in/out counter were very friendly. The beds were like rocks, no shampoo/condition (vending machine had 2 little packets for $2.00) Had to pay $3 a day for wi-fii. No breakfast or even coffee or tea, none in rooms or anywhere else. No hair dryer in room. There was hair from the previous person in the shower. The walls were paper thin, could hear the people walking above us and partying out in the hall and their rooms next to us. The pool is very tiny. I could see this as a $50 a night motel not one that cost us $104 a night!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Staff wasn't sure my room confirmed with Priceline would be ready on time,Their credit machine was not working properly,when calling their helpline they were put on hold indefinitely.Finally I gave them cash.They gave us a smoke stenched (nonsmoking) room.When I spoke up they Febreezed it.It still smelled so I too bought Febreeze but it made no difference.I liked their shower,luckilly I brought own shampoo and tooth brush as they're available in the candy machine
to buy.There no microwave,refrigerator or coffeemaker and no complimentary breakfast.Ive gotten more for 49.00.With tax 104.00.You might be better finding a cardboard box.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

For the budget traveler, this is a good choice for a night's sleep near Portsmouth. It is right off I-95 and next to a shopping center. The room was clean and quiet. As Motel 6's go this is a good choice for a budget stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent our first night at this motel as it was outside Boston but only an hour drive away, so a good spot to start from fresh from a nights sleep. Comfortable rooms and within walking distance of a couple of large stores and places to eat. No breakfast provided which suited us fine as we had found a nice diner not far away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We always choose Motel 6 when traveling with our dogs because of their chain wide pet friendly policy. This property is hands down the best Motel 6 we've stayed at. The interior and exterior is spotless. The rooms and furnishings appear new and modern. If all the Motel 6 were this good, we'd stay in them all the time. The front desk clerk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We will be back here whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel Six
Portsmouth Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.