We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it & will be back this year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Portsmouth to your Saves list
Motel 6 Portsmouth
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
nova scotia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved it & will be back this year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Motel 6 in Portsmouth on a shopping trip last September. It was a quick five minute drive from the outlets in Kittery, Maine, and just an hour or so from Boston. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spotless. The air conditioner only had to be set as high as medium to keep the room brisk while the temperatures outside climbed to nearly 100 degrees.

The location of the hotel is great - right across the street from the Fox Run Mall, which has a Macy's and JC Penney, as well as a bunch of other great shops. iHop, TGIFriday's and a few other great restaurants are just around the corner (definitely within walking distance) and a Wal-Mart supercenter is just up the hill.

We will be headed back to New Hampshire this August and have already booked our stay at the Motel 6!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    58
    37
    24
    27
See reviews for
46
60
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Room is new and OK BUT;
The bath was not clean, no Kleenex in the room, no alarm clock, no internet and most of the time no one at the front desk. Also, it is difficult to acces the motel from one side of the street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I spent a weekend here thinking I'd be fiscally smart...wrong! Spend the extra $20 to stay at the Hampton Inn and get an actual good nights sleep. Motel 6 does provide a room, with a refrigerator, tv, and a/c for under $100. That's the good news, the bad: the walls and floors are paper thin, the a/c mentioned as a pro...didn't work, the beds were rock hard, and the tv was a 19" tube tv. Other slightly irritating things were the incredibly slow elevator (there is only one for the hotel) and the fact that there is no internet at all...not even the pay for a day type. This place would be correctly priced at about $65 a night, it is definitely not worth $95! Take your business somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter weekend. Paid less for the 3 nights than one night on the road in a large chain hotel. Same results. Clean room, clean sheets and a good nights sleep. Bring your own amenities to keep prices down. Convenient location,close to everything!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I've stayed here many times and thought I'd respond since I have seen some of the poor reviews. I've never had a problem here. Yes, it's a Motel 6, it's inexpensive, so you aren't going to get the amenities of some of the more expensive hotels. It can be challenging to navigate if you aren't from the area or don't know the area - last I knew you can't take a left hand turn out of the hotel (to get to Spaulding Turnpike or head toward I95), so you have to make a u-turn at the first set of lights or drive into the mall parking to turn around. There is another motel on site that seems to use the same driveway, so be careful backing out of your parking space, it's tight as it is and people speed through the driveway, so just be careful! Parking seems a bit tight for the size of the hotel, but I don't know the room to parking space ratio. It's your basic affordable Motel 6, which is a brand I often use when traveling due to it's affordability. Convenient to beaches, Kittery Outlets, has a mall across the street Foxrun (indoor mall) & Crossings at Foxrun (outdoor/plaza type mall), movie theater, and plenty of various restaurants btn the two malls and in the local communities. As far as noise, yes, it can be noisy, but so can any hotel, it all depends on your fellow travelers and if they are considerate enough to think about their fellow travelers and quiet hours. For my family we try to be quiet 9/10pm to 9/10am and whisper in the hallways and not let doors slam. EVERY hotel I've ever been in has its considerate guests and its not so considerate guests and unfortunately it tends to be the inconsiderate ones who you remember and base your reviews on.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I was quite surprised at how bright and clean this hotel was. Even the location was fine. I would have thought there would be quite a bit of traffic noise being right next to the highway but we slept with our window open and it was quiet. The room was clean; the halls were clean and the bathroom was spotless. The hotel had no frills; no free breakfast; no free internet/WiFi. But for the price, it was WELL worth it! We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Clean, bright room, great front desk staff who were happy to provide helpful travel information. No charge for bringing in our dog.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel Six
Portsmouth Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.