We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't belong in the "Best Western" Chain!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Doesn't belong in the "Best Western" Chain!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

STAY AWAY !!!Terrible terrible where do I start .. First the reservations were wrong .. Never happened before !! The room was filthy candy bar wrappers on the floor .. And the bathroom stunk like a musty towel ... Then to top off no breakfast like other best westerns .. And honestly that's the only value in staying ... Being a diabetic I don't use sugar So I use a substitute .. Unfortunately the only option (and the cheapest )!was sweet and low !!! Yuck.. So no morning coffee .. The only pro was the front desk staff that got us in a room and didnt charge us for an extra nite ... Because the reservation desk screwed up .. Next time ill stay at the Hilton family chain .. And I suggest you do also

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am so sorry you had a bad experience with our reservation system and did not enjoy our sugar substitute. We are glad our Front Desk associates were able to rectify the reservation error and get you into a room on a busy Saturday night on the NH Seacoast. Our staff works very hard to take care of each and every guest in difficult situations. Reservations made through our hotel or best western on line do have a back-up system of providing an e-mail to clarify the details of each and every reservation. Once the reservation is made into the system our hotel sends an e-mail with the details of the reservation to the address provided by the guest. We have found this can eliminate any mis-communications. We believe this is the same practice at other hotel chains as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    132
    77
    36
    22
See reviews for
139
141
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Generally, we avoid Best Western properties, but this one is a gem. The rooms are large and well appointed. There is no bogus breakfast but there is a great diner attached with great breakfast options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are disappointed that you avoid Best Western properties but really appreciate you calling ours a Gem. All of us work very hard to make sure our rooms are clean and well taken care of for our guests. We appreciate you finding them large and well appointed. The Roundabout Diner is a great restaurant with a lot of fantastic breakfast options. Our staff eats there all the time. If you have any questions or would like to address any other concerns about the Best Western Brand please feel free to call me personally at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were traveling back from Maine and couldn't find a hotel anywhere between Freeport and the border that had a room for our last minute decision to stop for the night.
Ended up searching for cheapest room available in New Hampshire, and found a room here for $179 plus tax and fees.
We booked out of desperation and walked into a suite!
King sized bed and full kitchen.
I have no idea what this room costs full price, but if you can book the "king bed upgrade" for $170 do it!
Be careful in the traffic circles though. They are a bear

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The weekends on the seacoast from Maine to New Hampshire do tend to get very busy but we do our best to take care of each guest interested in staying at our hotel. Please give us a call in advance and we will gladly assist you in negotiating traffic circles. They definitely can be a bear. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Driving around looking for a room on a Saturday night ~ called BW and a very nice lady named Terri said she had a room for us. We were so relieved. Check-in was a breeze ~ Terri was so helpful and so was everyone else at the reception desk. Room was large, clean, and comfy. Next morning I soaked in the whirlpool while hubby used the exercise room. We liked the BW so much we booked another night ~ very happy with everything at the BW.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad Terri was able to assist in finding a room for you and your husband. Terri is a hard worker that truly enjoys working in the hospitality industry. A Saturday night in Portsmouth during the summer can be very busy I am glad we could assist you. We appreciate you noticing the hard work our associates do to keep the rooms clean and comfortable. Next time your are considering coming to the area we hope to have another room available for you but I would recommend calling us as early as possible to make the reservation. Our cancellation policy is only 24 hours so if you change your mind you can cancel the reservation a day ahead of time. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our trip consisted of a one night stay on our way to Star Island. The room was very comfortable and inviting after a very long drive. The hotel staff were very helpful and informative. The hotel was clean, and quite with great amenities. We also enjoyed the diner that was connected to the hotel. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. Our entire staff works hard to keep the hotel clean and inviting for our guests. Our Front Desk associates do know a lot about the New Hampshire Seacoast and they enjoy sharing their knowledge with our guests. All of associates also agree the diner connected to our hotel is great. We eat there all the time. We look forward to your return visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The staff was nice and friendly, The room was big and comfy. Great location, it is close to everything. The only issue was the WiFi wasn't working most of the time. But the Roundabout diner had WiFi that reached the lobby. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kinds about our staff. All of our associates enjoy welcoming guests to our hotel. We work in the hospitality business because we enjoy it. We are glad you found the room to be large and comfortable. I feel terrible the WiFi was not working properly. Unfortunately, pieces of a highly technological system can break causing headaches for everyone involved. Together with our service provider we have fixed the situation as well as increased our speed for the Internet. All of our rooms have wireless access as well as being hardwired for the Internet. We hope you are able to return to location again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Nice amenities. Nice staff. Bed so so, pillows small and lumpy and air conditioner loud for light sleepers. Didn't feel like a $200 a night room, more like a $129 to $150 a night room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. All of our associates work very hard to make sure that we keep the hotel clean and enjoyable for our guests. Every one of us enjoys welcoming guests to our hotel in our great city of Portsmouth. If you return to visit again please feel to ask that front desk or housekeepers for different pillows. People have different taste so we would gladly change your pillows if you would like to try a different style. We hope you will return to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites

Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western PLUS Wynwood Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one queen bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,000 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.