We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling back from Maine and couldn't find a hotel anywhere between Freeport and the border that had a room for our last minute decision to stop for the night.
Ended up searching for cheapest room available in New Hampshire, and found a room here for $179 plus tax and fees.
We booked out of desperation and walked into a suite!
King sized bed and full kitchen.
I have no idea what this room costs full price, but if you can book the "king bed upgrade" for $170 do it!
Be careful in the traffic circles though. They are a bear

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The weekends on the seacoast from Maine to New Hampshire do tend to get very busy but we do our best to take care of each guest interested in staying at our hotel. Please give us a call in advance and we will gladly assist you in negotiating traffic circles. They definitely can be a bear. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    166
    100
    48
    31
See reviews for
182
185
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Driving around looking for a room on a Saturday night ~ called BW and a very nice lady named Terri said she had a room for us. We were so relieved. Check-in was a breeze ~ Terri was so helpful and so was everyone else at the reception desk. Room was large, clean, and comfy. Next morning I soaked in the whirlpool while hubby used the exercise room. We liked the BW so much we booked another night ~ very happy with everything at the BW.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad Terri was able to assist in finding a room for you and your husband. Terri is a hard worker that truly enjoys working in the hospitality industry. A Saturday night in Portsmouth during the summer can be very busy I am glad we could assist you. We appreciate you noticing the hard work our associates do to keep the rooms clean and comfortable. Next time your are considering coming to the area we hope to have another room available for you but I would recommend calling us as early as possible to make the reservation. Our cancellation policy is only 24 hours so if you change your mind you can cancel the reservation a day ahead of time. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our trip consisted of a one night stay on our way to Star Island. The room was very comfortable and inviting after a very long drive. The hotel staff were very helpful and informative. The hotel was clean, and quite with great amenities. We also enjoyed the diner that was connected to the hotel. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. Our entire staff works hard to keep the hotel clean and inviting for our guests. Our Front Desk associates do know a lot about the New Hampshire Seacoast and they enjoy sharing their knowledge with our guests. All of associates also agree the diner connected to our hotel is great. We eat there all the time. We look forward to your return visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The staff was nice and friendly, The room was big and comfy. Great location, it is close to everything. The only issue was the WiFi wasn't working most of the time. But the Roundabout diner had WiFi that reached the lobby. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kinds about our staff. All of our associates enjoy welcoming guests to our hotel. We work in the hospitality business because we enjoy it. We are glad you found the room to be large and comfortable. I feel terrible the WiFi was not working properly. Unfortunately, pieces of a highly technological system can break causing headaches for everyone involved. Together with our service provider we have fixed the situation as well as increased our speed for the Internet. All of our rooms have wireless access as well as being hardwired for the Internet. We hope you are able to return to location again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Nice amenities. Nice staff. Bed so so, pillows small and lumpy and air conditioner loud for light sleepers. Didn't feel like a $200 a night room, more like a $129 to $150 a night room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. All of our associates work very hard to make sure that we keep the hotel clean and enjoyable for our guests. Every one of us enjoys welcoming guests to our hotel in our great city of Portsmouth. If you return to visit again please feel to ask that front desk or housekeepers for different pillows. People have different taste so we would gladly change your pillows if you would like to try a different style. We hope you will return to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our trip to Portsmouth this., year was a return from last year due in part to the stay we had last year. we love this hotel and especially the restaurant. Everyone makes you feel welcome and at home. The area has so much to offer and is so close to Kittery, ME and Boston, MA and all there is to do in those areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review for our hotel. We are glad to be your Portsmouth home away from home. Our staff enjoys welcoming guests to our fine New Hampshire city. We all enjoy many of the great attractions around the Portsmouth area so our enthusiasm can be contagious. All of us also agree the Roundabout restaurant is fantastic. In fact we eat there all of the time. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a one-night stop over at this property over the weekend. We travelled all day and arrived at the property close to 11pm at night. The first problem was parking. There was absolutely no parking available in front of the building so we had to drive around to the back of the property. There were a number of people hanging around out there smoking. I'm really not sure if they were hotel guests, staff or locals but I wasn't particularly comfortable leaving my car in a limited visability area. While the check-in process went smoothly, the room was underwhelming. The size of the room was very nice however it had a strange musty odor. There were kid-sized pillows on the king-sized bed. We pulled the nightstand out to gain access to the electrical outlet and found a lot of trash behind it. We also couldn't get access to the supposed "free internet". Had we not been so tired, we probably would have complained or looked for alternative lodging for the night. For a $200+ room, I expected more. It was very underwhelming and certainly not worth the money. I would not have stayed longer than a night at this property and would not re-visit it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am sorry you did not feel like our hotel was up to the Best Western standards of a PLUS hotel. We certainly feel bad we did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel qualifies for the PLUS rating because of the numerous amenities we offer but unfortunately you did not mention any possibly due to the late hour of your arrival. Our parking lot is quite large due to the size of our hotel. We have over 250 parking spaces for our 169 suites. The parking lot itself does surround the hotel with numerous entry doors to our hotel that require a key card for entry. Our hotel is a PLUS hotel because we have an indoor pool, hot tub, a seasonal outdoor pool, a free business center and a fitness room. All of our rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee marker, and iron equipment. We also have a full service restaurant on site called the Roundabout Diner that serves breakfast all day long. I feel badly you thought there was an odor in the room. We hope you are able to visit the area again and give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites

Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western PLUS Wynwood Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one queen bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,000 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.