We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Portsmouth
NJ, United States
1 review
“Friendly staff..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The staff was nice and friendly, The room was big and comfy. Great location, it is close to everything. The only issue was the WiFi wasn't working most of the time. But the Roundabout diner had WiFi that reached the lobby. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kinds about our staff. All of our associates enjoy welcoming guests to our hotel. We work in the hospitality business because we enjoy it. We are glad you found the room to be large and comfortable. I feel terrible the WiFi was not working properly. Unfortunately, pieces of a highly technological system can break causing headaches for everyone involved. Together with our service provider we have fixed the situation as well as increased our speed for the Internet. All of our rooms have wireless access as well as being hardwired for the Internet. We hope you are able to return to location again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
83
77
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Nice amenities. Nice staff. Bed so so, pillows small and lumpy and air conditioner loud for light sleepers. Didn't feel like a $200 a night room, more like a $129 to $150 a night room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. All of our associates work very hard to make sure that we keep the hotel clean and enjoyable for our guests. Every one of us enjoys welcoming guests to our hotel in our great city of Portsmouth. If you return to visit again please feel to ask that front desk or housekeepers for different pillows. People have different taste so we would gladly change your pillows if you would like to try a different style. We hope you will return to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our trip to Portsmouth this., year was a return from last year due in part to the stay we had last year. we love this hotel and especially the restaurant. Everyone makes you feel welcome and at home. The area has so much to offer and is so close to Kittery, ME and Boston, MA and all there is to do in those areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review for our hotel. We are glad to be your Portsmouth home away from home. Our staff enjoys welcoming guests to our fine New Hampshire city. We all enjoy many of the great attractions around the Portsmouth area so our enthusiasm can be contagious. All of us also agree the Roundabout restaurant is fantastic. In fact we eat there all of the time. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a one-night stop over at this property over the weekend. We travelled all day and arrived at the property close to 11pm at night. The first problem was parking. There was absolutely no parking available in front of the building so we had to drive around to the back of the property. There were a number of people hanging around out there smoking. I'm really not sure if they were hotel guests, staff or locals but I wasn't particularly comfortable leaving my car in a limited visability area. While the check-in process went smoothly, the room was underwhelming. The size of the room was very nice however it had a strange musty odor. There were kid-sized pillows on the king-sized bed. We pulled the nightstand out to gain access to the electrical outlet and found a lot of trash behind it. We also couldn't get access to the supposed "free internet". Had we not been so tired, we probably would have complained or looked for alternative lodging for the night. For a $200+ room, I expected more. It was very underwhelming and certainly not worth the money. I would not have stayed longer than a night at this property and would not re-visit it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am sorry you did not feel like our hotel was up to the Best Western standards of a PLUS hotel. We certainly feel bad we did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel qualifies for the PLUS rating because of the numerous amenities we offer but unfortunately you did not mention any possibly due to the late hour of your arrival. Our parking lot is quite large due to the size of our hotel. We have over 250 parking spaces for our 169 suites. The parking lot itself does surround the hotel with numerous entry doors to our hotel that require a key card for entry. Our hotel is a PLUS hotel because we have an indoor pool, hot tub, a seasonal outdoor pool, a free business center and a fitness room. All of our rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee marker, and iron equipment. We also have a full service restaurant on site called the Roundabout Diner that serves breakfast all day long. I feel badly you thought there was an odor in the room. We hope you are able to visit the area again and give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

While the room was clean and convenient, this hotel needs some TLC. The carpeting is old and in need of replacing. The pool indoors was suitable but could use updating. There were no towels available at the pool, so we dripped all the way back to our room. Hallways and doors were a bit noisy. Elevator was loud and seemed a bit shaky. Again, needing TLC. The hotel met our needs because it was convenient to 95, but I probably would check out the Holiday Inn next door instead.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We really appreciate your mentioning our clean rooms. Our staff works hard to make sure all of our guest experience clean rooms. I am sorry you felt our indoor pool was not up to your expectations. The indoor pool area has been refurbished in the last two years with new paint and new flooring. We have also recently updated the pool area with ADA compliant lifts. In addition to the indoor pool we have a hot tub and we have an outdoor pool that is open seasonally. We hope you will visit the area again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here with my young children for one night before a wedding in York. We had debated about where to stay, but ultimately decided this hotel was the right one. It was close to everything we needed to get to and cheaper than staying in York. It proved to be an excellent choice. The room was spacious and accommodating for us. I would have liked a little more light in the room, but that is not a deal breaker. The indoor pool was a nice temperature for the kids and they enjoyed their time in it. The staff was friendly, no complaints there. There are three things I would say would have been helpful. 1) Towels in the pool area 2) A better sense from the front desk at check-in as to which door is closest to our room. The door we were told to go in was a far walk and as it turns out there was one right in front of our room. We figured it out, but it would have been good to have that at the beginning. 3) The in room wi-fi was terrible in the spot I was at. I ended up not being able to use it because it kept cutting out. The signal was very weak.
Other than that, great stay for people visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your visit. Thank you for commenting on our friendly staff as well as the spacious rooms. We are glad your family enjoyed the indoor pool. Our outdoor pool is also open seasonally but early in the morning the temperature may not be warm enough. I understand your concerns and appreciate your thoughts. I will definitely consider your ideas and try to make the improvements to the hotel. Hopefully the wedding was great and maybe you can visit with the Bride and Groom while staying at our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It is such a nice place to stay for a one night rest on the road as we did. The conception sound's to be 70's old fashioned but the rooms are just big, proff and confortable. In addition people at front desk were really nice and obliging. In addition you can enjoy an indoor pool for a morning fresh dive !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words especially since you are a top contributor that has done so many different hotel reviews. Our associates at the Front Desk appreciate your comments about their service attitudes. Every one of our people enjoys working in the hospitality industry welcoming people to our great city. We are glad you enjoyed the indoor pool for the refreshing dive. Our outdoor pool even though it is open during August might still be too cold first thing in the morning. Enjoy the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you in our area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western PLUS Wynwood Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one queen bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,000 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.