We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likes our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wrens Nest Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wrens Nest Village Inn to your Saves list
Wrens Nest Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3548 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Spencer, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Likes our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the 1 bedromm cabins. It was comfortable large and clean. The staff was freindly and the resturant was great. All in all we had a great time and would recomend Wren's to our friends.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the rooms but the cabin was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
2
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in May. Both rooms were clean but needed redecorating and better lighting. Our room smelt of alcohol - perhaps from the bottle of Jack Daniels we discovered in the fridge. Not well sound proofed as we could hear the people above very clearly.
The owner recommended breakfast in Betty's Kitchen, a few minutes along the road and he was right - great place and food. We ate dinner at the Wren's Nest restaurant - food was tasty and owner & chef couldn't have been more welcoming.

It is OK for just a night en route to Portsmouth (we paid $70 per room).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, NH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I took my wife to Portsmouth for a couple of days for Mother's Day. Everything was wonderful, except the Wrens Nest! I heard about it from B&B.com. We love authentic b&b's for their charm, friendliness, and home-made breakfasts. This was NONE of that!

First problem - it's NOT a b&b. You can get a simple continental breakfast if you're willing to wait until after 9:30. Second, Ralph Lauren would have been embarrassed to have our room named after him. Old, worn, tacky. It's an old motel from the 1960's. Finally, it's way over priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in the Ralph Lauren room last night 1/28/12 and boy can picures be deceiving! The room itself was clean, but the old ratty carpets, drapes, and bedding must have been 100 years old, giving the place a very dirty, dingy appearance. Very disappointing! And "Ralph Lauren"?? Oh my God! There were two very old dingy "Ralph Lauren" throw pillows on the bed and a print on the wall of a girl in riding breeches ! That and a faded picture of a polo player on the coffee cups was about it. Also, we brought our bathing suits because the website said that there was a swimming pool with a jacuzzi and waterfall! Well, the "swimming pool" room which was a separate building was closed down, locked up, and the door jam so rusted it looked like it hadn't been opened in years. Why is it still on their website?! And the worst part was that outside of each room there was a loungechair for sitting and a large standing ashtray because smoking is not allowed inside the rooms. I am not exaggerating when I say that the ashtrays probably had not been emptied in a year. Some of them were so overflowing with cigarette butts that there must have been a hundred or so. Disgusting! Another surprise was that there is no shower in the room. There is a showerhead mounted on the wall of the jacuzzi attached to a long cord so if you want to take a shower you have to stand in the jacuzzi in the middle of your bedroom (where the jacuzzi is) and "shower". One last thing, some reviewers mentioned that if you are on the bottom floor you hear people stomping on the floors in the rooms overhead. Well, we were on the top floor and the people next door to us were up at 3AM having a fight and it sounded like they were in the same room with us. AND, when they walked across the room it was like someone banging a sledgehammer on the floor. This shouting and stomping went on for several hours until finally someone must have complained because someone from the management came up to their room. I understand that rude guests are not the fault of the establishment, but the fact that someone walking and talking (even when they weren't shouting) was so incredibly loud in our room next door was amazing to me! Anyway, we kept a sense of humor about it all, but I just want to warn anyone who plans to stay there that pictures are deceiving!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at the Wren's Nest on New Years Eve and I must say for the price, this place is a total DIVE! The $304 that I paid for their basket welcome basket and "jacuzzi" suite were dollars that I will never get back. The "Ralph Lauren Room" consisted of some beat up Ralph Lauren Pillows, an old TV and a tape player. If you are looking for modern ammenities, do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. Additionally, the carpet was stained and really old and the room reeked of something, I cant put my finger on. Do yourself a favor and seek alternate accommodations if you are coming to Portsmouth. This place isnt worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

OMG! Not all is it's cracked up to be. We stayed on the first floor heard every foot step upstairs. Room had no hot water when we got up couldn't get anyone in the office till 8:45, office supposed to open at 8:00. Room had a slight musty type smell, cobwebs in the corners and along an odd fluorescent light above the bed. Tops of the 2 chairs in the room were dirty/dusty. We booked this place because of the location and saw the good reviews out weighed the bad, well I advise not staying. I saw no breakfast, manager(?) said there would be cereal set up in the morning. My advice don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Read the very mixed reviews but went ahead and booked based on a friends recommendation. Stayed in the Isle of Shoals room. Room was lovely, large and spotlessly clean. Hot tub is really only for one person, but we still really enjoyed it. Close to everything. We enjoyed a tour of the Red Hook Brewery and dinner there. All in all a great romantic get away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrens Nest Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrens Nest Village Inn

Address: 3548 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrens Nest Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not relax in a jacuzzi tub in a themed room? Welcome to the Wren's Nest Inn, on Route 1 convenient to Portsmouth NH and Hampton NH. Choose from several room options - Standard King Rooms, Studio Suites, Cottages with Kitchens, 1-Bedroom Suites with Kitchenettes, Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites with various themes, and our Premium Jacuzzi Suites, such as the Isle of Shoals Room, The Hemingway Room, the White Mountain Lodge, or the Harley Davidson Room. All of our rooms offer private baths, free wi-fi internet, cable TV, in-room coffee, phone, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, micro-frig, climate control, etc. All guests can enjoy our indoor heated pool and free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wrens Nest Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrens Nest Village Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrens Nest Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.