We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice just outside of Portsmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Solid choice just outside of Portsmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night in late July 2014. Very reasonably priced, room with two double beds easily accomodated 3 adults and 2 teenagers with fold-out bed added. Excellent breaktfast as always and no problems with lines. Guess they've added a managers reception here too, which we caught the tail end of on our checking in. Had free shuttle that dropped us off and picked us back up in town - downtown Portsmouth was a very pleasant surprise - great shops, bars and restaurants (we enjoyed Flat Bread Pizza). We aspired to hit the nearby outlet mall, but we were too tired. Have to imagine it was much less expensive than right in town, with easy free parking and still very good access into town. All in all a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
mikewfu,
Thanks very much for your review; it’s great to know you enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!

Yours truly,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    140
    36
    18
    14
See reviews for
147
153
7
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Came here after escaping from the Motel 6. Never been happier to get a room! Staff were very friendly, breakfast was excellent and the shuttle service was a nice touch. Only complaint is that they need to expand their breakfast area. Too small, long line and no where to sit. Everything was clean. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
liberin,
Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The bathroom curtain was stained (someone had sneezed on it) & i think the housekeeper didn't change it. The hot tub wasn't that clean, i could tell from the walls there were stains, pool area was a little messy, it could be improved. Staff was friendly & helpful though

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Abbeykaweki,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at the Hampton Portsmouth. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Uniformity across all hotels. Convenient, quality of rooms, clean, friendly. Space for meeting during breakfast and in evening is excellent. Always easy to access. Never a waiting line. A hotel that compels a guest to place Hampton at the top of the list of option because the risk is very low and the rewards/benefits are high and assured. We are always comfortable at the Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
David B,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer, along with the Hampton Brand in general. Thank you for your pledged loyalty to our brand!
I will be sure to share your comments to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past, but will never go back again. Tub drain was broken, shower curtain mold-stained, had to request clean towels (yes, we left the used ones on the floor). Reported issues and received a new shower curtain. No fix to the tub. Also there were numerous bugs (looked like fungus gnats) flying around the room (primarily in the bathroom).

Stay at Hilton properties all over (for business and personal) and rarely experience problems; don't know if this property has had a management change, but it was never like this in the past.

There are plenty of other hotel alternatives in Portsmouth - don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
McTraveler81,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is clean, the shuttle is great, but what good is it if you do not get the room you reserved? I had a confirmation for a King bed with whirlpool tub and yet at check-in the room we had a CONFIRMATION on was not available. The desk clerk had no explanation and there was no manager on duty to speak to. We took what they offered, but got the impression that customer satisfaction and brand loyalty means very little. A phone call to customer service was a waste of time. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Imabooklover,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very clean and the staff was very friendly. Loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour. pool and hot tub area clean and we weren't over powered by the smell of chlorine like most indoor pools. Fitness room small, but good enough for a quick cardio workout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
407jamese,
Thank you writing a review about your recent experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Portsmouth for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.