We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

As with all Hampton Inns I stay at, great pleasant service, free breakfast and this one also has cookies in the lobby when you come home at night....nice homey touch. This trip there was also a manager's happy hour, a very civilized treat after a long day out and about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
319christopherm,
Thank you for your review and recommendation We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    127
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
135
141
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was in the area on business and upon checking in saw there were a lot of large groups of teens and adults, appeared to be basketball teams (tournaments in the area maybe?) so every amenity was dominated by them and the noise level was high. I find it troubling that the adults were louder than the kids and thought nothing of shouting in the hallways with no regard for time or place. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Complimentary bottled water should be offered by ALL hotels, including this one....but overall the stay was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Kelifus1,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we hope to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Hampton inns. Always perfect. Comfortable beds, snuggly bedding, consistent, always know what you are getting, free breakfast and happy hour, very nice staff, great amenities, I could go on. Something new this time was fresh cut fruit..papaya, grapefruit, oranges, blueberries and pineapple. The woman serving the breakfast said the Hampton Inns are making some upgrades to the menu. I would love to see granola, and toppings like nuts and dried frhit

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Lifemorejoyful,
Thank you taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your loyalty to the Hampton brand and we always value feedback. I’m pleased you enjoyed our recent changes to the breakfast menu and thank you again for visiting our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel was great. It is not located directly downtown, but this hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to downtown until 10pm. It is clean and all the people that worked there were friendly and helpful. This hotel would be a great place to bring family because there is a pool and complimentary hot breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Patricia C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is important to us and I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thank you again for the recommendation and I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Unremarkable two night stay. As expected, the staff was courteous and helpful, even for a 1:30 am arrival. Modest breakfast consistent with other hotels in the Hampton Inn chain. The hotel did seem to be a bit short on staff. While clean overall, we were surprised to return to our room around 3:30 pm to find that maid service had yet to stop by (hence the below average mark in service). All was in order when we came back in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Rich P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I’m pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. All feedback is important to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experience. I hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hamtpon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Enjoyed the 'Managers Reception' offered at this hotel. I stay at Hampton Inn's all the time and this is the first one that offered this amenity. Everything else about the hotel and my stay was up to the usual Hampton Inn Standards. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Bruce A,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have been coming here for 5 years. I have always looked forward to staying here. the staff is always friendly and willing to help. It also doesn't hurt that they offer complimentary beer and appetizers on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
mikemZ2239GK,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel! I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.