We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton Inn, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
“Average Hampton Inn, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a getaway. Friendly service, convenient location. TV had to be manually set for input each time it was used and the cable box turned on separately, no instructions, had to call for maintenance to show the first time. Otherwise, clean and quiet room despite highway view. Would stay again at this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
wenpj,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth for your 2 night stay getaway. We appreciate you writing a review about your experience, and we're glad our friendly service, clean accommodations, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the frustrations you encountered with the television set and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We value you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    127
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
134
141
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've stayed at many different motels/hotels in Portsmouth, NH -
we go to the Portsm.outh Maritime Music Festival every September -
this is our new favorite.
Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable, & affordable (AAA/AARP rate),
with all the ammenities: coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, etc. A good value.
Free "Happy Hour" every evening except Sunday and good selection of free breakfast items.
All staff were very helpful and courteous.
I must remember to bring my laptop & swim suit next year!
Only negative was the slowness of the 2 public computers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
L M,
We're happy to have had you as our guests while attending the Maritime Music Festival. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our friendly service, clean accommodations, and the variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located to the downtown area (a short drive). The staff was extremely friendly throughout our stay and the room was clean. They offered an unexpected perk of a Happy Hour with a nice selection of wines and local beer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
bdf630,
Thank you for sharing your great review regarding Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. We're glad our hotel was conveniently located for your travels, and you found our friendly service and value added amenities to exceed your expectations. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent an enjoyable 4 days there. Very professional, efficient and friendly staff, and the amenities can't be beat! Shuttle bus takes you anywhere within a 5-mile radius (which includes downtown Portsmouth and Kittery Outlets!), complimentary breakfast, Manager's reception every day at 4:30. And did I mention the staff??? They were wonderful, could not have been more helpful or friendly. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when in Portsmouth or the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Susan K,
Thank you for sharing your review and complimentary feedback on the wonderful variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth, and the excellent service you received from our friendly staff. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our team and thank you again for writing. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times because we love the location being next to restaurants & shopping. It is easy to find off the highway and is set back in a quiet location. Breakfasts & Social Hour for Guests every evening are free and well presented. The rooms were always clean and very comfortable. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
AMcF_12,
Thank you for your review and continued patronage at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that our close proximity to restaurants and shopping is well suited for your travel needs, and our clean rooms and friendly service made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll return for another visit with us in the near future. Thank you again for your great review.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked this through booking.com and got a very good rate. The check in was very fast and we found the room surprisingly large, clean and comfortable, with a decent TV. The manager has a daily 'greeting' with free drinks at 4.30pm and was attended by a fair number of folks, who all welcomed this pleasant gesture. Although the hotel is a little distance from downtown they run a superb bus service until late so you can wine and dine and simply call them to pick you up, we waited just a few minutes, excellent service, and if we're passing this way again we may well use this hotel again. Thanks to the staff and manager
As an afterthought, next to the hotel is the biggest Christmas shop we've ever seen, a bit weird for September, we thought, before spending $20 in there

Room Tip: Book early for good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
SteveByfleet,
We appreciate your review and kind comments about our comfortable accommodations and excellent service at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we're glad you enjoyed our daily manager's reception that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Paid advanced rate to reserve one king room and one queen room. Arrived to be given two queen rooms. Talked to four different people and left still being charged more for a room that I reserved and was not given. Also, door of one of the queen rooms broke. New queen room had a leaking faucet in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.