We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hampton Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at Hampton Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a great stay. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. It was affordable, the room was big and super clean. The staff was really nice and friendly, and helpful when we demagnetized our room key by accident. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Essayspot,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel and friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Sincerely,

Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    153
    44
    21
    17
See reviews for
165
168
8
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, NY, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Portsmith NH needs some serious work. The Hotel Lobby and some Rooms have a very Musty smell. This smell is very bothersome to some people. Personally, I would choose another Hampton Inn. Stir clear of the Hampton Inn in Portsmith NH.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
William H,

Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,

Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Liked the size of the refrigerator. Our room felt damp all of the time. Not sure if it was because it was on the first floor like the pool. Pool was nice and the hot tub was nice. Would have been a little more relaxing if it was not so hot though. Had a good breakfast selection every morning. It was convenient to all of the stores and downtown Portsmouth. Our room had not been cleaned very well from before we arrived. Found paper under the front of the bed from Wings. We had not gone there. Our room was never cleaned the 3 nights we were their since we were in the room until 10 am. I have been to many hotels and they come back latter e and clean if you are out late in the morning. Staff was friendly and helpful and they will give you items such as razors and shaving cream if you forget yours at home. It is out dated though and there were no dressers to put your clothing in. I do not like living out of my suitcase even if it is only 3 nights. Not sure I would would recommend or stay at this Hampton again. Another plus however was they had complimentary laundry service. However, I had to take people's clothes out of the dryers a couple of times. They leave them in there for hours and no one else can use them.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Katluvlh,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you return to the Portsmouth area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,

Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend for a wedding! Staff were great,bed was fabulous! The room was sizable and bathroom was huge!! Hotel is very convenient to shopping and downtown. There hotel was sold out with a few weddings going on so we were nervous about the noise level.....never heard a thing in the hall, not even a door shutting!! Would stay here again....3rd floor had no odor whatsoever !!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dana S,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while attending a wedding, and we’re glad you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

In general, this is a well maintained facility with better than average cleanliness. However, there are some areas in which improvement can be made primarily with respect to housekeeping, and training of some of the staff. Also the window treatments did not fully close allowing a substantial amount of light into the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Lawrence M,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially on opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can do a better job of providing exceptional service. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton NB
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel that's not too far from downtown... And the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to take you to and from the downtown! This, combined with the managers reception with local microbrew, made this a pleasant stay. Room cleanliness was OK: bed was clean and room was clean-ish (fingernail clippings behind bedside table - yes, I'm one of "those people" who check the bed for bugs and the bathroom for gross stuff) and had a couple of stray hairs in the tub - probably from the housekeeping crew while cleaning. Overall, a great stay, would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
freddymom,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad our convenient location and value added amenities made for a pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback and will be certain to discuss this review with our housekeeping staff inorder to make improvements for a more positive guest experience. It’s great to know you had a great stay overall and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just north of I-95 this was a great value compared to hotels south of I-95 in Portsmouth. Saved lots of $ staying 10 minutes outside of town. Free breakfast too. Staff is good. Rooms are quiet. Good weekend stay hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Scott2424,
We’re happy to receive your feedback about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It’s great to hear you enjoyed a quiet stay and found our convenient location and friendly service well suited for your needs. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.