We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Road Warriors
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend for a wedding! Staff were great,bed was fabulous! The room was sizable and bathroom was huge!! Hotel is very convenient to shopping and downtown. There hotel was sold out with a few weddings going on so we were nervous about the noise level.....never heard a thing in the hall, not even a door shutting!! Would stay here again....3rd floor had no odor whatsoever !!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dana S,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while attending a wedding, and we’re glad you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    116
    31
    17
    11
See reviews for
123
119
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

In general, this is a well maintained facility with better than average cleanliness. However, there are some areas in which improvement can be made primarily with respect to housekeeping, and training of some of the staff. Also the window treatments did not fully close allowing a substantial amount of light into the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Lawrence M,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially on opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can do a better job of providing exceptional service. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton NB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel that's not too far from downtown... And the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to take you to and from the downtown! This, combined with the managers reception with local microbrew, made this a pleasant stay. Room cleanliness was OK: bed was clean and room was clean-ish (fingernail clippings behind bedside table - yes, I'm one of "those people" who check the bed for bugs and the bathroom for gross stuff) and had a couple of stray hairs in the tub - probably from the housekeeping crew while cleaning. Overall, a great stay, would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
freddymom,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad our convenient location and value added amenities made for a pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback and will be certain to discuss this review with our housekeeping staff inorder to make improvements for a more positive guest experience. It’s great to know you had a great stay overall and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just north of I-95 this was a great value compared to hotels south of I-95 in Portsmouth. Saved lots of $ staying 10 minutes outside of town. Free breakfast too. Staff is good. Rooms are quiet. Good weekend stay hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Scott2424,
We’re happy to receive your feedback about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It’s great to hear you enjoyed a quiet stay and found our convenient location and friendly service well suited for your needs. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff at this location is very professional and courteous. The room was very nice. The only problem with this location is the age of the building. The hotel smells as though it has suffered some type of water damage. There was a pervasive "musty" odor in the building. In my room in particular, each time I entered, there was an odor of what smelled like cat urine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Susan S,
Thank you for writing. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. I’m glad you enjoyed our guest rooms and friendly staff. I appreciate you bringing these items of concern to my attention, and I assure you I have addressed these issues with our maintenance team and housekeeping staff. We do hope you’ll consider staying with us the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The room was very nice and well appointed and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was quite nice and we had no problem getting what we wanted when we wanted it. The hotel is smaller but that's a plus in my opinion. It is very well located near the Foxrun Mall and a short drive from the outlet shops in Kittery. I will stay here again. Not a place for smaller kids necessarily but that's also a bit of a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Craig A,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we appreciate you sharing feedback on your Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. I’m delighted to know that our comfortable accommodations and friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit and we hope to see you soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Four of us stayed for 3 night, used it as a launching point ot go North and South and shop. Very clean rooms, good sized and modern. The free hot breakfast was good in the morning, a bit crowded at times, but not a big deal. The pool was clean as was the jacuzzi, not very crowded at all. There were 2 "bonuses" that need to be discussed: 1. The managers reception each night from 4:30 to 6:30 was great...free beer (local brewery) and wine, along with non-alcoholic beverages and pocorn and various other appetizers. 2. The free shuttle service downtown was excellent. No need to find parking, just hop on and they will pick you when you are ready. I will stay here without question next time we are in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
dukeofburl,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback about our great hotel and all the wonderful amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to meet exceed your expectations. We’re happy to have had you as our guests while on your shopping trip, and we look forward to your next visit with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.