We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly awesome experience!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
ACUSHNET
1 review
“A truly awesome experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This has to be the finest hotel ever for value,service,cleanliness and friendliness! This certainly is a hotel that merits return visits. We have'nt got that much bang for our buck in a very long time. Certainly a hotel that cares about their clientel. The Vigeants 20 4

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
ROBERT V,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your recent stay with us at Hampton Inn. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a nice, pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind compliments, and I hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again. We look forward to it!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    127
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
134
141
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not right in downtown Portsmouth, but very close-- they have a great shuttle right to downtown. About 1/2 mile off highway-- lots of shopping close by. Rooms are great, a bit smaller than some other Hamptons we stay in; but it was fine for what we needed. Pool was a bit murky-- lots of chlorine-- and the air was VERY cold, but it was a cold weekend. Nice breakfast area! The staff is friendly, helpful and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
ddm01238,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us at Hampton Inn, and we're pleased you had a nice, pleasant visit. I hope you enjoyed your time in downtown Portsmouth too! Please come and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at this Hampton Inn - the staff - Larry & Nicki along with the shuttle drivers and breakfast bar personnell were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well taken care off. This property was convenient to shopping and restaurants.
We will stay here again and would recommend this property to our family, friends and co-workers.

Room Tip: High Floor away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Donna M,
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear from you and learn of your pleasant stay with us. I'm glad you had such a great time at our hotel and especially enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff. Your recommendation to everyone is also appreciated! Come and visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a surprise stay at the Hampton Inn last night. Nicer than many more expensive hotels. The room was clean, everything looked new, no stains. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room, an ice machine and washer dryers down the hall, a jacuzzi tub in our room. The bed was comfy and even the pillows (and I'm one of those people who travels with my own pillow for my neck - didn't need it!) were perfect. The lobby has a nice fireplace area, and check-in was easy and quick. We got there during the manager's reception and had a nice glass of merlot and some popcorn - they had tortilla chips and dip. There seemed to be a lot of families enjoying the free wine and local Red Hook beer while the kids swam in the pool. (During our stay, even the lobby had that pool chlorine smell, which might be a problem for some. ) Despite the family fun, our room was quiet. If you don't want the free breakfast and their coffee, the drive-through Starbucks is just down the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Elaine1953,
It's a pleasure to hear from you and receive such a wonderful review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at Hampton Inn, and we're glad to have surprised you with our wonderful hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you liked our comfortable rooms, Manager's Reception, and complimentary breakfast. I'm glad you found a nice, comfortable place of rest in the Portsmouth area, and I hope you'll visit us again for another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, basically all of what others have mentioned already. I stayed here based on the reviews from this site and many of them are accurate. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Naiomi607,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you liked our property, friendly staff, and spacious rooms. I'm glad you gave us a try after reading other reviews and found us to be what you expected. We enjoyed having you and hope you'll return soon. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice place to stay. Everything was neat and clean. The pool and hot tub were colder than we preferred but if you don't mind the cold they seemed to be clean. Convenient place to stay for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Michele G,
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found a nice place to stay! We hope your future travels will bring you back to our area and you'll visit us again. Thanks and safe travels.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.